VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello guys, a total newbie got another question...

I was trying to make my video (which was in RGB format) lighter with Tweak function and i got an error from Avisynth saying "Tweak: YUV data only (no RGB)". Could you please explain, what does this mean? Ive tried to read Avisynth documentation but havent found the answer. I suppose i should convert my video to YUV, but i wonder why Avisynth doesnt wanna work with RGB?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    There are several Avisynth functions and filters that do work in RGB, but most use YV12 or YUY2. Most functions with the Tweak() filter work in YV12 and YUY2. Try Avisynth's function RGBAdjust(). Or import RGB directly into VirtualDub, whose filters are almost all RGB.

The documentation that comes with most Avisynth filters usually indicates the colorspace(s) that the filter can use. Many video operations require some flavor or other of YUV. MAny of those filters work on the luma and/or chroma component separately, which can't be done with RGB. If you encode to standard formats such as DVD, BluRay or AVCHD, the video will be encoded as YV12. If you intend to mount videos on websites such as Utube, etc., RGB is not used.

To convert to YV12 in Avisynth:
    for interlaced video: ConvertToYV12(intelaced=true)
    for progressive video: ConvertToYV12(interlaced=false)

Last edited by LMotlow; 2nd Sep 2015 at 08:19.
    - My sister Ann's brother
    Quote Quote  
  3. When color TV was invented they needed a way to broadcast a signal that had color information but was also compatible with black and white TVs. The solution was to broadcast the colors (chroma, U and V, or Cb and Cr) separately (on a subcarrier) from the greyscale image (Y). This was a mathematical transformation of the RGB data, including rotating* and scaling of the axis:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YCbCr

On this page you can see a diagram of the RGB cube inside the YCbCr cube: