VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey everyone,

for anyone who has read my threads on this forum you already know who I am, for those of you who dont i am a crazy AMATEUR filmmaker (former pro photog) who loves to push the limits. For the past two solid weeks I have been an absolute sponge in soaking up all the knowledge I can to help me become better at this before the big TV Series shoot. i have had a lot of fun and even in only two weeks I can look back on my previous films and say stuff like "that did not need to be in there" or "we should have put that scene together different"

I have learned everything from blocking a scene with talent, to marking a scene, to boom operation, external sound, timecode, separate system sound, gaffing, using things like Dolly and cranes to add a bit of production value to a set. I know I still have lots to learn, but the fun thing is when you make a mistake after you have the knowledge you can see it right away, and then immediately choose to change it or leave it in to add some color or originality.

I have also learned that when you prepare a set properly that takes time, for this movie we filmed in a kitchen. So to dress the set we had to remove all personal items, set up lighting, and remove the ceiling tiles for the sound equipment to be in place. I attached a pic of that as well.