VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 22 of 22
Thread
  1. Hello.

    I have an iso file which is highly compressed to 7 GB and also includes .md5, .dvd, .dvdid (I guess those are for recreating the original files from the iso).

    I want to burn that iso file to a DVD9 (8.5 GB) and I have already tried but failed many times and kept wondering why.

    I recently discovered what's wrong when I manually extracted the contents from the iso file...they have the insane size of 75.5 GB.

    Is there a way to compress or something that huge size to fit it to a DVD9 without losing any content or quality?
    I would prefer doing it from the iso file without the need of manually extracting it, because I have many iso files of the same kind.

    I tried using dvd shrink but it can't even read the iso file or the extracted folders (it produces an error message).

    The content is video with menus (audio_ts, jacket_p, video_ts) and the weird thing is that its source is from a DVD9 - I have no idea why it has that huge size, I am not the one who ripped it.

    Thank you in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    the weird thing is that its source is from a DVD9 - I have no idea why it has that huge size, I am not the one who ripped it.
    It's not REALLY that huge, you just did something wrong and/or are using the wrong tools.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Can you play the iso with vlc media player?
    How did you rip it(anydvd, dvdfab, etc)?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Again, it's not me who ripped the DVD.

    But I know that the source is DVD9 and the guy used AnyDVD to create it (no idea what options he chose there).

    I have extracted the iso manually using WinRAR, does that have to do anything with the big size?

    Yeah the iso plays fine with VLC.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Rerip from the original to a video_ts folder.

    I don't know how you can fix the iso file.
    Quote Quote  
  6. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post

    I recently discovered what's wrong when I manually extracted the contents from the iso file...they have the insane size of 75.5 GB.
    A lot of dvds ('Tin Tin' for one, season 5 Downton Abbey for another) show properties in excess of 50 gigs. AnyDVD 'should' find the correct title set for ripping. DVDShrink usually returns error messages for these, "until AnyDVD has ripped them".

    -c-
    Last edited by cornemuse; 30th Jul 2015 at 08:56. Reason: feng shui
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  7. A Member since June, 2004 Keyser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Westernmost point of Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    I want to burn that iso file to a DVD9 (8.5 GB) and I have already tried but failed many times and kept wondering why.
    What do you mean by failed? What error messages did you get?

    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    I recently discovered what's wrong when I manually extracted the contents from the iso file...they have the insane size of 75.5 GB.
    That can happen sometimes. It's not necessarily a problem.

    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    I tried using dvd shrink but it can't even read the iso file or the extracted folders (it produces an error message).
    Post the error message.
    "The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  8. Re-riping from the original source is not an option.

    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post
    A lot of dvds ('Tin Tin' for one, season 5 Downton Abbey for another) show properties in excess of 50 gigs. AnyDVD 'should' find the correct title set for ripping. DVDShrink usually returns error messages for these, "until AnyDVD has ripped them".
    Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
    That can happen sometimes. It's not necessarily a problem.
    Is this something common? I am lost here because ripping from a DVD9 and getting 75.5 GB after extracting the iso doesn't really make sense to me. - Yet in Windows you can see many weird things

    Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
    What do you mean by failed? What error messages did you get?
    I have tried 8 times I think on different software and speeds. My friend also tried in his Mac.
    Every time it will reach 75-95% then say something like "burning process failed, insert another blank dvd".
    But when the properties of the content show that big size it kinda makes sense why burning them fails every time, right?
    I always tried burning the iso file without manually extracting it (software does that).

    Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
    Post the error message.
    When trying to open the image file (iso) it says "failed to read file".
    When trying to open the extracted folders it says "invalid data in file \video_ts\vts_01_0.vob".
    Quote Quote  
  9. A Member since June, 2004 Keyser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Westernmost point of Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    Is this something common? I am lost here because ripping from a DVD9 and getting 75.5 GB after extracting the iso doesn't really make sense to me. - Yet in Windows you can see many weird things
    It has nothing to do with Windows. Some copy protections report wrong file structures like repeated PGCs and VOBs giving the illusion of a disc with impossible contentes size.

    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    When trying to open the image file (iso) it says "failed to read file".
    When trying to open the extracted folders it says "invalid data in file \video_ts\vts_01_0.vob".
    Well... Maybe you really have a bad rip.

    PS: Have you tried burning with ImgBurn?
    "The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    Is this something common? I am lost here because ripping from a DVD9 and getting 75.5 GB after extracting the iso doesn't really make sense to me.
    It's very common. Think of the table of contents in a book

    Code:
    Chapter 1: pages 1 to 10
    Chapter 2: pages 11 to 20
    Chapter 3: pages 21 to 30
    You know that book as 30 pages. A program that went though the table of contents and adds up the number of pages in each chapter sees that it has 30 pages. But what if someone screws around with the table of contents:

    Code:
    Chapter 1: pages 1 to 10
    Chapter 2: pages 11 to 20
    Chapter 3: pages 21 to 30
    Chapter 4: pages 1 to 10
    A program that adds up the number of pages in each chapter will now see there are 40 pages. If it rips each chapter you'll end up with 40 pages. But the book still only has 30 pages. That's what's happening with DVDs that use this obfuscation technique.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
    PS: Have you tried burning with ImgBurn?
    I have tried with Nero, CloneDVD2, MagicISO, but not with ImgBurn although that would be my next try.
    But I am afraid it won't do any better and it would just waste another dvd.


    jagabo thanks for the explanation now it makes sense
    Quote Quote  
  12. A Member since June, 2004 Keyser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Westernmost point of Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    I have tried with Nero, CloneDVD2, MagicISO, but not with ImgBurn although that would be my next try.
    But I am afraid it won't do any better and it would just waste another dvd.
    If you want to get to the bottom of this, I suggest you try burning with ImgBurn and, if it fails, save the log file and post it here. There's a good chance the log will shed some light on this matter.
    "The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  13. Try opening the iso with MakeMKV. If it can't extract the files for selection, or throws a fit transcoding to a movie only copy, then it's a good bet the iso is bad. It might be AnyDVD couldn't break the encryption (just have to wait for an update, or join the slysoft forum and request a fix).
    Quote Quote  
  14. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    But I am afraid it won't do any better and it would just waste another dvd.
    Buy and use rewritable discs (DVD-RW or DVD+RW).
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    Every time it will reach 75-95% then say something like "burning process failed, insert another blank dvd".
    But when the properties of the content show that big size it kinda makes sense why burning them fails every time, right?
    No. 75-95% of 75GB is way more than a DVD9 can hold.

    I'm also curious about how ImgBurn will handle it. But it may not work either because it may not have been decrypted properly to begin with or because the ISO is corrupt. But I would have tried it first knowing if ImgBurn didn't work nothing else would either.
    Quote Quote  
  16. A Member since June, 2004 Keyser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Westernmost point of Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    I have tried 8 times I think on different software and speeds. My friend also tried in his Mac.
    Every time it will reach 75-95% then say something like "burning process failed, insert another blank dvd".
    But when the properties of the content show that big size it kinda makes sense why burning them fails every time, right?
    Not really! Burning an image file is not the same as burning a file compilation. An ISO image is a raw file, just a sequence of data sectros without any special meaning as far as the burning app is concerned. The burning app will just burn those sectors onto the target disc without trying to interpret the image contents (file system if any, folders, files, etc.). This is why you can burn a Mac HFS image using a Windows app, even if Windows itself can't recognize the image contents and, similarily, you can create an image from a HFS disc even if Windows can't access the disc contents. So, as long as the image size fits onto the disc there souldn't be any problem. As a matter of fact, if the image is too big for the destination disc, the burning app will tell you so BEFORE trying to burn.

    However, this doesn't mean you'll get a viable disc. If the image file is somehow "damaged" you can end up with an unusable disc even if it burned just fine. But that's another story...
    Last edited by Keyser; 30th Jul 2015 at 17:26.
    "The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    [QUOTE=Chris13;2402784]Re-riping from the original source is not an option.

    If you don't have the original DVD in your possession, you don't have any right to burn or keep the files you have.
    Quote Quote  
  18. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Go to 'Slysoft', dl & install 'virtual clonedrive' (free). Mount the iso and open it. Probably it has about 10 titlesets. Generally, latest 'Anydvd' version recognizes which is the valid TS. (edit->) That is, scan virtual clonedrive image as a valid dvd. If you have anydvd, it should scan & rip the correct TS. Rip to hard drive (not iso), as you might also need to run 'FixVTS' The 'rip' box usually would show, "for example, TS 5" as the valid TS.

    -c-
    Last edited by cornemuse; 31st Jul 2015 at 10:39. Reason: feng shui
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  19. Ok, I haven't tried ImgBurn yet but I can see this in the Image Information:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	246
Size:	9.5 KB
ID:	32926

    Some weird times there?

    Originally Posted by transporterfan View Post
    Try opening the iso with MakeMKV. If it can't extract the files for selection, or throws a fit transcoding to a movie only copy, then it's a good bet the iso is bad. It might be AnyDVD couldn't break the encryption (just have to wait for an update, or join the slysoft forum and request a fix).
    MakeMKV shows this:

    Code:
    MakeMKV v1.9.5 win(x64-release) started
    Using direct disc access mode
    Calculated BUP offset for VTS #0 does not match one in IFO header.
    Calculated BUP offset for VTS #6 does not match one in IFO header.
    Calculated BUP offset for VTS #7 does not match one in IFO header.
    Calculated BUP offset for VTS #8 does not match one in IFO header.
    Calculated BUP offset for VTS #9 does not match one in IFO header.
    Calculated BUP offset for VTS #10 does not match one in IFO header.
    Calculated BUP offset for VTS #11 does not match one in IFO header.
    Title #1 has length of 6 seconds which is less than minimum title length of 120 seconds and was therefore skipped
    Title #3 has length of 14 seconds which is less than minimum title length of 120 seconds and was therefore skipped
    Title #4 has length of 61 seconds which is less than minimum title length of 120 seconds and was therefore skipped
    Title #25 was added (5 cell(s), 0:24:40)
    Title #25/0/3 was added (5 cell(s), 0:24:40)
    Title #25/0/6 was added (5 cell(s), 0:24:41)
    Title #25/0/9 was added (5 cell(s), 0:24:40)
    Title #25/0/12 was added (5 cell(s), 0:24:41)
    Title #25/0/15 was added (5 cell(s), 0:24:40)
    Title #25/0/18 was added (5 cell(s), 0:24:41)
    Title #25/0/22 has length of 106 seconds which is less than minimum title length of 120 seconds and was therefore skipped
    Title #25/0/23 has length of 10 seconds which is less than minimum title length of 120 seconds and was therefore skipped
    Title #26 was added (4 cell(s), 0:24:09)
    Title #26/0/3 was added (4 cell(s), 0:24:10)
    Title #26/0/6 was added (4 cell(s), 0:24:10)
    Title #26/0/9 was added (4 cell(s), 0:24:10)
    Title #26/0/12 was added (4 cell(s), 0:24:10)
    Title #26/0/16 was added (4 cell(s), 0:24:10)
    Title #26/0/19 was added (4 cell(s), 0:24:10)
    Title #26/0/22 has length of 106 seconds which is less than minimum title length of 120 seconds and was therefore skipped
    Title #26/0/23 has length of 10 seconds which is less than minimum title length of 120 seconds and was therefore skipped
    Operation successfully completed
    So that means the iso is fine right?
    On the other hand it shows this on the selection:

    Name:  2.png
Views: 293
Size:  5.3 KB

    Kinda weird sizes there right? I think it repeats them because of the language & subtitle selection? Maybe that's the reason of the whole "repeating situation"?

    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post
    Go to 'Slysoft', dl & install 'virtual clonedrive' (free). Mount the iso and open it. Probably it has about 10 titlesets. Generally, latest 'Anydvd' version recognizes which is the valid TS. (edit->) That is, scan virtual clonedrive image as a valid dvd. If you have anydvd, it should scan & rip the correct TS. Rip to hard drive (not iso), as you might also need to run 'FixVTS' The 'rip' box usually would show, "for example, TS 5" as the valid TS.

    -c-
    This is so genius I wish I would have thought of that
    I tried this and I think I got a successful rip. (ImgBurn could probably do the same job but since the original rip was made with AnyDVD that decided it)

    The size is 6.88 GB which is perfect, although the size of the iso is 6.94 GB (not sure what happened there).
    I got a video_ts folder and a .dvdid, - audio_ts and jacket_p folders are not there but I guess that's no problem?
    It plays just fine, I think the quality is the same (it should be right?) and everything seems to be there menus, extras, subs, etc.
    Now all I have to do is burn the video_ts folder to dvd? (I don't need the .dvdid for that?)
    Quote Quote  
  20. A Member since June, 2004 Keyser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Westernmost point of Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Chris13 View Post
    Ok, I haven't tried ImgBurn yet...
    May I ask Why not?
    "The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  21. Well, cornemuse's suggestion worked perfectly.
    Virtual CloneDrive & AnyDVD for another rip, then burn the folder with ImgBurn (I didn't use FixVTS).

    Yes maybe using ImgBurn to burn directly from the iso might also work, but since the above works I don't prefer risking another dvd.
    Although I am very curious if it can do a similar job because it seems to be an awesome software.
    I might try it in the near future for similar isos and I will let you know how it worked.

    By the way, when burning to dvd (3x speed) I noticed that after 70% completion the speed starts to slow down, reaching 0x for a couple of seconds then speeds up and does this many times until it reaches 100%. Also when finalizing the disc it sticks to 99% for a few minutes but then completes successful. Verifying the disc is also successful as well as playing the disc everything is fine. But should I worry for this weird up and down speed thing? From what I understand it happens during the 2nd layer. Is this something common?

    PS: I want to thank everyone here who helped, especially cornemuse for his working solution
    Quote Quote  
  22. Hi again. Even though the burning was a success and the dvd works perfectly, my friend can't copy the dvd from his Mac (using Disk Utility). It fails after halfway through.
    For some reason his drive has trouble reading the disc the 1st time (works perfect on my Windows and PS3) and pops it out. The 2nd time it doesn't have any trouble reading it and plays just fine.

    I'd like to think that Mac doesn't have any problem with copying non-original discs.
    So the best guess would be that his drive has reading problems?
    Is there some good diagnosis tool for that?
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads