VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm looking to connect my NAS & PC, looking at two identical wired routers (TP-Link TL-R402M & 460M), the 460 is an Ethernet router. I can't find what the difference is? And do I need the Ethernet one? They both seem to do the same thing from the product guide, but I'm new to routers so thought I'd ask.

thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I suspect the difference is just in the titles. Most routers would be 'Ethernet' routers. That is they would have a WAN connection for incoming data from a modem and LAN connections to distribute data to your PCs or other devices.

The main advantage to a router is NAT (Network Address Translation) that keeps you from being directly exposed to the internet.
    They also act as a active data distribution system to organize data flowing between devices.

You might also use a 'Switch' if you need more connections. I have about 12 PCs and devices hooked up through five switches and just one router/modem device.

But someone more familiar with both devices may have better advice.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I noticed that both routers are 10/100Mbps.

If all of the networked devices have a gigabit LAN port (10/100/1000Mbps) and you have Cat 5 or better Ethernet cable installed, you could increase the data transfer speed between the devices on your home network with a 10/100/1000Mbps router.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    The TP page doesn't make the destinction in name that you refer to: http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/cat-4762_TL-R402M.html & http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/cat-4762_TL-R460.html

They appear to different versions of the same router. The 460, just based on the page noted above, has advanced QOS.

And I agree, look for a model with 1G port support (ie: 10/100/1000 port speeds).
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote