VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I record TV programs on a magnavox dvd recorder and am stuck with rabbit ears so I frequently need to replace a choppy episode with a downloaded MP4. I'm relatively new to burning. I have most of the popular free software and I cannot figure out how to do this. Am I asking too much? Is it possible to download and convert a video to video_ts and then add that VOB to an existing disk that will play in my player. I've been trying to get burnaware free to work for this. It does not recognize the disk as occupied (except for the very first use after install) so it won't write unless it erases which defeats the purpose. How can I accomplish this seemingly simple task? Can someone help with this? Been trying all year to get this to work.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by JustTV View Post
    add that VOB to an existing disk
    No.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by hech54 View Post
    No.
    Yes. As videobruger said. Or, using PGCEdit you can add it as well, although you might have to make menu command adjustments. Maybe make it a first play title.

Or, reauthor the existing titles and new title into a single DVD using one of the free DVD authoring programs, with or without new menus.

Or, lose the menus and author the existing titles and the new one in DVDShrink. They'll play one after the other.

Or, use AVSToDVD to reencode the MP4 and add it to the others which shouldn't be reencoded, and make a new and very simple menu for the whole thing. Other AVSToDVD users will know better than I if this is possible.

All this assumes you won't be going over the size limit of a DVD5 or 9, whichever it takes to add the new one to the already existing one. And hech54 may be right in the sense that this might be beyond your abilities at the moment, although it's certainly possible.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by manono View Post
    Originally Posted by hech54 View Post
    No.