VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Search Comp PM
    Hello I have a Fujitsu laptop and I want to play 3D Blu Ray ISO images while I have my laptop connected with my 3D TV.
    The laptop is quite old, I bought it in 2010. Here are the specs of the laptop:
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Fujitsu-LifeBook-A530-Notebook.35948.0.html
    The GPU is Intel HD Graphics , DirectX Version 10.1.
    The laptop has connections for both VGA and HDMI.
    I have the program Cyberlink Power DVD 15 which is capable of playing 3D Blu Ray ISOs.
    How can I check if my laptop's GPU is capable of transmiting full 1080p 3D signal to my TV?
    My TV is brand new, it's the Samsung Active 3D UE55H6400.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    There was at one time a "3d ready?" program that checked your system to see which elements were up to the task of playing 3D and which weren't. Don't remember right now what it was called. But I'm pretty sure that it was an nVidia app, so it would show your laptop as not passing, since it doesn't have any nVidia chip (how would it know what the capabilities of other chipmakers' products were, right?). You could use that for all the rest of your system, though.
    Easier thing would be just to try playing a 3DBD title. Yes, I know that PDVD is supposed to play BD & DVD ISOs, but it doesn't actually say anywhere that it allows playback of 3DBD ISOs. However, that isn't a total bust as there is a workaround: mount the ISO as a Virtual disc - then it looks to the app like it's playing a 3DBD disc. Of course, you MUST remember to only use the HDMI port.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    There was at one time a "3d ready?" program that checked your system to see which elements were up to the task of playing 3D and which weren't. Don't remember right now what it was called. But I'm pretty sure that it was an nVidia app, so it would show your laptop as not passing, since it doesn't have any nVidia chip (how would it know what the capabilities of other chipmakers' products were, right?). You could use that for all the rest of your system, though.
    Easier thing would be just to try playing a 3DBD title. Yes, I know that PDVD is supposed to play BD & DVD ISOs, but it doesn't actually say anywhere that it allows playback of 3DBD ISOs. However, that isn't a total bust as there is a workaround: mount the ISO as a Virtual disc - then it looks to the app like it's playing a 3DBD disc. Of course, you MUST remember to only use the HDMI port.

    Scott
    I tried this program from CyberLink, the maker of Power DVD.

    While at the "Basic" function of this program, I get all passed, at the "Advanced" Tab some specs are not passed.
    So I am confused.
    I have already tried playing the Avatar 3D Blu Ray ISO with no success.
    Maybe I should take a photo and show you what options I get.
    I am not 100% that my HDMI cable is Hi-Speed, so to make sure I will go and buy one and see if that changes anything.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Screegrab, couldn't hurt.

    Again, try MOUNTING the ISO (WinCDEmu or VirtualCD or DaemonTools, etc).

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Search Comp PM
    Hello again,
    I got a HiSpeed HDMI cable with Ethernet, and I have tried both Corel WinDVD 11 Pro and PowerDVD 15.
    Here are the screenshots I got with both programs.
    With PowerDVD 15 when I select 3D with HDMI 1.4 I get this error:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	PowerDVD-error.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	32300

    And with WinDVD I can't select at all the option HDMI 1.4
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150624_204448.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	32301

    Does that mean that my GPU can't handle HDMI 1.4??? Or do I just need a new driver for my GPU?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Oohh, doesn't look good.

    ...Took a while to find the info, but your GPU only supports up to HDMI 1.3. So the 1.4, 1.4a, etc features (which includes the 3D features you need) are NOT included. Can it be upgraded, via firmware or driver, to support 1.4+? I doubt it. To date, only the Sony PS3 has been able to do that, partly because it can update its own firmware (and had anticipated such a thing for the HDMI port), and partly because the way it added 3D was a bit of a cheat.

    Actually, if you think about it, it couldn't have been capable. The HDMI 1.4 spec came out in mid 2010. You bought your laptop in 2010 (and I'm sure it was based on equipment designed prior to that). Thus, it could not support a spec that hadn't even come out yet.

    Sorry.
    New laptop?

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    Oohh, doesn't look good.

    ...Took a while to find the info, but your GPU only supports up to HDMI 1.3.
    I was looking for that info too, where did you found it??

    Well I guess I might have to check with my old Core-Duo desktop, see if it's GPU can display 3D.... or maybe just buy a new GPU for that old Desktop, put it in a small nice cube media center style box.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Not sure exactly. Had to go about 5 steps down, following the GPU's model #...

    Good luck,

    Scott
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads