VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all,
    I'm no programmer, so bear with my question. I was wondering how difficult would be for someone to create an OFX plugin where one could load VirtualDub filters, and/or Avisynth scripts? Or at least acting like some kind of a bridge between the OFX host and VirtualDub/Avisynth? Is it even possible? That would eliminate the need for intermediate renderings, and would also save disk space. Any thoughts?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Very difficult , or next to impossible to have it "live" and adjustable within the host

If your concern is disk space and large intermediates, there are some workflows and workarounds where you can frameserve into applications, and frameserve out of some applications. You need to be more specific about which applications you are using if you want more information
    Quote Quote  
  3. Poisondeathray, thank you for the suggestion, so I looked into frameserving a little. I'm using DaVinci Resolve for everything (or at least I'm trying to), together with OFX plugins. As I understand though, not all VirtualDub filters will work through FrameServer, and Resolve is not on the Debugmode's list of supported NLEs.

But for the sake of conversation, and to understand how this works, can I load more than one Frameserver files at the same time into an editor, and edit them there on-the-fly? Example, I'm applying some filters on two (or three or four) clips in multiple instances of VirtualDub and want to call them through the NLE for simultaneous or sequential playback and editing.

I also understand that every time I want to work with the editor on a project which includes frameserving clips, I'll have to run VirtualDub(s) again, open the clips, load their settings, and start the frameserving, in advance. In general, is this a reliable, stable method for long projects?