VideoHelp Forum


Try NordVPN to access Netflix or other streaming services from any country and also surf safe!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Argentina
    Search PM
    Hello.

    How do I set video time code to start in 01:00:00 in subtitle edit app?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Bottom left there's a column to set the start time.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Argentina
    Search PM
    Sorry, I was not clear.
    I loaded a video and when a play it the timecode at the beginning showed in the bottom right is 00:00:00,000.
    I need the video to start at 01:00:00,000.
    The reason is that I have a subtitle file created with that starting timecode and I can't change it.
    Thanks for your help.
    Quote Quote  
  4. As Johns0 said, lower left corner:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	setstart.png
Views:	405
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	32011
    Quote Quote  
  5. A Member since June, 2004 Keyser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Westernmost point of Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Costantinil View Post
    The reason is that I have a subtitle file created with that starting timecode and I can't change it.
    Why not?

    P.S. If I understand correctly, the OP doesn't want to advance playback to 01:00:00,000; instead, he wants the begining of the video to have timecode 01:00:00,000.
    "The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Argentina
    Search PM
    Click image for larger version

Name:	example.gif
Views:	366
Size:	181.9 KB
ID:	32019

    Im including an example.
    you can see that the video has burned a timecode (starting at 00:58:20.00) and at the bottom right its starting at 00:00:00.00.
    I need the botton right timecode to start at 00:58:20.00)
    Quote Quote  
  7. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    You can't do what you want,if that timecode is burned in then it starts at the time its burned at,subtitle will only adjust text time codes.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Argentina
    Search PM
    Click image for larger version

Name:	format.gif
Views:	366
Size:	177.7 KB
ID:	32024
    I have checked the video.
    As you can see the timecode of first frame is 00:58:20,00 but in subtitle edit it starts at 00:00:00,0
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Argentina
    Search PM
    Please do someone know how to solve this issue with subtitle edit? Thanks very much...
    Quote Quote  
  10. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    It seems to me that the information "timecode of first frame" has nothing to do with subtitle timings...
    Quote Quote  
  11. Subtitle Edit does not read timecode. So all files are considered to start at 0.

    The good news is you know the offset: 58;20;00.

    If you're creating new titles, create them to match video, then add a 58;20;00 offset before you export.
    If you're importing existing tiltes, subtract 58;20;00 from the first title start time and slip the rest to match.

    You may want to download the demo for SubBits subtitler and see if it does what you need:
    http://www.videotoolshed.com/product/12/subbits-subtitler
    Quote Quote  
  12. Timecode in video related to video editing programs not to subtitle edit
    in subtitle edit timecode start always start from 00:00:00.00
    maybe you can explain what exactly you trying to do?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Argentina
    Search PM
    Thank you for your explanation!

    If the subtitle edit does not read the timecode, I need to add an offset if I'm exporting or subtract if I'm importing.
    Quote Quote  
  14. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    If the audio and the video are sync-ed, and the subtitle file is sync-ed too,
    then you have to do nothing =)
    Quote Quote  
  15. Hej
    I've got another question to "Subtitle edit". Hope it's okay that I use your thread.

    I like to add subtitles to a video. Therefore I have a txt-file with the time and the subtitles. Is there any way to use this file? When I'm open it in Subtitle edit it shows the time as a text, not as a staringtime.

    Thank you for help
    Best whishes
    Blesbie
    Quote Quote  
  16. @blesbie

    Maybe. Probably.

    Perhaps you should attach the file to a post or paste part of it to show how it looks.

    I'll leave it to the moderators if you should open a separate thread.
    Quote Quote  
  17. It looks like this:
    time_s Subtitle
    6,445 2,05
    6,465 2,05
    6,485 2,05
    6,505 1,97
    ...

    So the time is in seconds, but with Excel I could bring it into the usal form 00:00:06:...

    Any ideas how to load into "Subtitle edit"?
    Quote Quote  
  18. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Rachana Prashad View Post
    hate the fact I went to uni to become a translator/interpreter. this semester we are dealing with subtitle translation... can anyone suggest to me a good app (please, except "subtitle edit" can't use it...)
    idiot. you replied to a 6 year old post that has nothing to do with what you want. as if it even existed... good luck at "uni"
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads