VideoHelp Forum


Try DVDFab Video Downloader and rip Netflix video! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Hi,

    sorry if this sounds a little off topic but it actually has to do with video editing. I made once a logo image as a transparent png to use in virtualdub but since virtualdub logo plugin doesnt allow png I had to convert it to PNG and make an alpha image to use along with it in order to make it look transparent on the video.

    Now I need that original image but I lost it and I have only the 2 BMPs. Is there any way to get a transparent png out of those?

    Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Are your BMP's RGBA (RGB32) ? Do they already have the transparency information ? If so, then you can use an image editor e.g. photoshop, gimp, paint.net, imagemagick, etc... Even ffmpeg can do this

    Or did you mean 1 of the BMPs are RGB24, and the 2nd BMP has the separate alpha channel (white and black) ?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, the issue is whether you have the cutout, or the mask, or both used in tandem.

    But also you can cut out the logo with a selection mask in any paint software. Do your mask, then duplicate that onto a new layer, then delete the other layers, and save as PNG.

    So this is the single most skill that you need to focus on. How to cut out selections from a layer and put it on another, or transparent, layer. The post is totally ON topic because this is the editor's basic power tool.

    In fact, I'd say that transparency, methods of making a selection, and layering are the core tools that allow artists to create that magic.
    Last edited by budwzr; 16th May 2015 at 13:47.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    Post both BMP's. I should be able to make a 32-bit PNG with transparency in about 5 sec in Paint.NET. This assumes you did it correctly. If you want to do it yourself, put each image on separate layers, then use the Magic Wand to select the Alpha Channel, then switch to the Logo layer and Delete. Delete the Alpha layer and save as 32-bit PNG.

    Virtualdub supports transparency if you save it as a .tga with alpha channel. Remember that for the next time.
    Got my retirement plans all set. Looks like I only have to work another 5 years after I die........
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    That Paint.net looks pretty good. But I haven't really tried it much yet. It's very similar to Microsoft Digital Image Pro, that I use now.

    I'm going to try Paint.net to see which one to keep.

    UPDATE: Paint.net is a good find racer. It even has blend modes. Nice.
    Last edited by budwzr; 16th May 2015 at 15:45.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    The real beauty of Paint.NET is all the powerful, but free plugins available for it. I currently have 295 plugins installed. Some are great, some, not so much, but it is a very good free image editor in it's own right....

    Truth be said, I very rarely use Photoshop anymore. If nothing else, I've made a commitment to use free open source s/w when ever possible. I've been quite happy with the results I've achieved so far.

    Don't get me wrong, PhotoShop is a great tool, I just like doing things with free, open source s/w just for fun. Plus, you never have to worry about paying royalties down the road. That is always a good thing in my opinion.........
    Got my retirement plans all set. Looks like I only have to work another 5 years after I die........
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    When I'm on someone else's PC, or on a semi-locked down work PC, I'll use Paint.net. It is great in all the features that you've already mentioned. But at my own workstation, Photoshop is the only way to fly. I think we've talked about this before, racer-x: I use many of the extended features (16bit/ch, 32bit/ch or HDR, layer groups, adjustment layers, vector integration, 3d integration, stitching, palette tweaking) which I can get straight out of the box, no need for plugins.
    I'm all for supporting FOSS when possible, but don't want to compromise or be less efficient when it comes to how I make my living.
    That I think is why there are still so many pros that rely on payware.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    The problem with PhoShop, for me, is that it doesn't handle SVG vector graphics. You have to buy Illustrator. Vector graphics can be animated into full 3D cheaply.

    I know Scott likes Bluff Titler, and I personally use Aurora 3D Animation Maker. Both are really cool simple solutions to 3D animation for the rest of us.

    The OP is just looking to make a static logo, but with a few cheap tools you can really jazz that up.

    I'm a hobbyist.
    Last edited by budwzr; 16th May 2015 at 19:05.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by supercain View Post
    Hi,

    sorry if this sounds a little off topic but it actually has to do with video editing. I made once a logo image as a transparent png to use in virtualdub but since virtualdub logo plugin doesnt allow png I had to convert it to PNG and make an alpha image to use along with it in order to make it look transparent on the video.

    Now I need that original image but I lost it and I have only the 2 BMPs. Is there any way to get a transparent png out of those?

    Thank you.
    Combine alpha and image in Gimp - save as 32bit PNG.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads