VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey guys I am going to start a YouTube channel and am researching all the equipment I will need to get the job done right.

I am currently researching laptops that will be able to handle my video editing needs.

My situation: I am a beginner so I will use basic editing software (Adobe Premiere) and only using basic features. My videos will range from 5-to-30 minutes in length. I will be using a 1080p camera to capture my videos.

From the research I have done I’ve found I need a laptop with:

-I5 or higher internal processor for CPU

-Minimum of 8GB of RAM

-1TB of hard drive @ 7200 RPM

-Minimum of 17 in. screen (however I plan to hook my laptop up to my flat screen TV to conquer this hurdle so I’m not too worried about screen size)

Questions:

1. Is this the right specifications for what I am seeking to do? (If I get a computer with these specs and do my video editing will the quality of the footage be unaltered from the rendering process? Will my computer crash from overload of work?)

2. I have found computers with all the specs aforementioned except the hard drive runs @ 5400 RPM instead of 7200 RPM. Will this be an issue if I go with the 5400 RPM HD?

3. Should I even worry about the HD and just buy an external HD with the specs I need to get the job done instead?

Currently I am looking at the following models of laptops:

1. Lenovo ThinkPad T450s http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/thinkpad/t-series/t450s/?sb=:00000025:00003B0A:

2. Inspiron 17 5000 series http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/inspiron-17-5749-laptop/pd?oc=smi175w7ps2434d&model_...17-5749-laptop

3. HP Envy http://store.hp.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/PDPStdView?storeId=10151&urlLangId=-1&pr...&TabName=specs

4. Toshiba Satellite L70-BST2NX4 http://www.toshiba.com/us/computers/laptops/satellite/L70/L70-BST2NX4

Thanks for your help!
    -Rob
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search PM