VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have several hundred one minute long mp4 files that I would like to split/crop to make them 30 seconds long (or perhaps less) without re-encoding.

I've spent hours looking for software that can do this without any luck.

*Is* there software that can do this? I have no experience writing scripts, so I'd prefer something with a GUI.

Any ideas?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I don't think you will find any gui. But with some help should you be able to make a bat script using ffmpeg. You just have to click on the bat to run it then.

Do you want to split them in two pieces? Or just keep the first 30 seconds?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I was afraid of that. But if it isn't too difficult, I'll give it a shot.

I'd like to keep the last 30 seconds (possibly 20) of each file. If splitting every file in half (and then deleting the first half) is easier, I have no problem with that either.

Thanks so much for your help.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Usually keeping the end is problematic to do in a batch script (it's easier to keep the beginning), but if all the files are approx 1min each, you can set the start time to 30 sec and it will copy from 30 sec to end, giving you the last 30 sec if they are 1min in duration. These will just be approximate times (you can't split precisely with most compression schemes anyways, because of long GOP encoding - you can only cut on keyframe boundaries, unless you use "smart editing" software which re-encodes a few frame around the cutsite, but you lose quality on those frames. With this method, there is no quality loss, but the cuts will not be precise, just approximate)

1) To do this with ffmpeg, you download ffmpeg, and it's easier to place a copy of ffmpeg.exe in the same directory as files to be copied if you're not familar with paths or environment variables