VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member Ygramul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Search Comp PM
    I use Premiere Pro CC 2014.1. I have a sequence of about 70 clips and I want each of them to cross dissolve into the next one. Unfortunately, Premiere seems to be very picky about such a simple thing. I tried dragging and dropping the transition from the effects window to the part of the sequence where the clips meet and I get different results because some of the clips have those little triangles (edit points?) at the end and some don't.



    I can add the transition at the end of a clip with a triangle...



    I can add the transition between two clips if there are no triangles (which is something I want to do)...



    When I add the transition between two clips with triangles, I get a warning: "insufficient data. the transition will contain repeated frames".

    Somebody please explain why this is such a hassle. I'm an amateur and I read a few tutorials and threads concerning this topic, so I really tried to understand this. The source of the clips is a video game I recorded with Nvidia Shadowplay and cut with Avidemux to save memory. I also trimmed most of them in Premiere (hence the triangles, I guess).

    I know I can just do it like this (pic below), but it's time consuming and I don't want to do that in the future.

    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Northern California
    Search PM
    Two things:

    1. You can apply a default transition (and obviously you can set which transition is default) to the whole timeline.
    2. The indicators indicate if there is enough footage to make a smooth transition.

    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    How would you expect Premiere (or indeed any NLE) to know what is supposed to go AFTER the end of a clip, or BEFORE the beginning of another? Yet that is what you've been asking it to do.

    To fix this, you trim off the edge of one or both clips BEFORE applying the transition.

    Scott
    Last edited by Cornucopia; 14th Apr 2015 at 00:00.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Ygramul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by newpball View Post
    Two things:

    1. You can apply a default transition (and obviously you can set which transition is default) to the whole timeline.
    2. The indicators indicate if there is enough footage to make a smooth transition.

    1. I know about that and it doesn't change anything. It still refuses to add the transition to clips with triangles and some of the ones without them still don't have "enough footage".

    2. What does "enough footage" even mean? Let's say I have two pairs of adjacent clips. I add the transition to both of those pairs. One is fine, the other gives me the "not enough footage" message. I don't get why I'm supposed to do anything to the clips on the timeline to be able to apply a simple transition.


    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    How would you expect Premiere (or indeed any NLE) to know what is supposed to go AFTER the end of a clip, or BEFORE the beginning of another? Yet that is what you've been asking it to do.

    To fix this, you trim off the edge of one or both clips BEFORE applying the transition.

    Scott
    So the triangle is like an artificial threshold that HAS to be removed before doing anything? Why? Does Premiere still use the original clips I added to the project panel as a reference when adding FX?

    So if the transition is 30 frames long, I need to trim 15 frames from the first clip and another 15 from the next clip and Premiere uses the frames that are invisible (because of the trimming) to animate the transition? If that's the case, now I understand why it's confusing.

    I hope what I wrote is clear...
    Quote Quote  
  5. Your 4th image is a good visual representation of what Premiere is doing "behind the scenes" with a transition. There must be enough overlapping material on both ends to cover the transition's duration.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Now you're getting it...

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    In super layman's terms: The "triangles" represent the END of a clip. Meaning, there is NO MEDIA left. It's where you started and stopped recording. In order for there to be any transition, (video OR audio,) there needs to be at least a few frames of media left to work with, or at least as long as you wish the transition to be...perhaps a second or two even. So, you must shorten your clips so that the transition has enough media to work with to overlap with the next clip. There will absolutely NOT be a triangle left if you have shortened the clip. The triangles are only present if it is the very start or very end of a clip, if it has not been cut on either end. You will notice that if you simply drag an entire clip down to the timeline, there's a triangle on each end. If you cut or shorten the clip on either end, the triangle disappears from whichever end you cut from. Make sense now?
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads