VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have an mpeg-2 file on my computer. I want to create a dvd-video using this file that will play on a standalone dvd player. (I'm new to buring videos) I tried using Windows 7 DVD Maker. The software created the correct files: .vob, .ifo and .bup and shows that 4GB of data was recorded onto the dvd. However the DVD does not play in a DVR-231 player. It only plays Ok on various computers.
    The disc burned is a Verbatim DVR-r azo dye. It should be compatible with most devices.
    Windows DVD Maker has a Video filter compatibility option "AVI Decmpressor". This was checked when I burned the DVD. I have no idea what this filter does. Should I uncheck all video filters or am I simply better off using different software? I rather not burn 10-15 dvd's until I get 1 that works.
    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Best advice.

Use avstodvd to author the dvd and imgburn to burn the disk
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Did you get a VIDEO_TS folder? Then try burn it with Imgburn. See http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?/topic/1778-how-to-create-a-single-layer-dvd-video-...using-imgburn/

Or try something else. Like the old dvdflick, avstodvd.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Hi all,

@DB83
    The last comment about avstodvd is:
    Since updating to V2.8.0 I've been getting these MediaInfo.dll warnings that I did not receive in previous versions, and I have no idea why I get them.
    Is the latest version workable? Does it contain addware etc?

@ Baldrick
    Yes, the dvd has a VIDEO_TS folder.

Since everyone is recommending other software, it sounds like Windows DVD Maker is not reliable.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search PM