VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I'm a newb so go easy. I am desperately trying to find a program to DL Digital 8 footage from several home movies off my Sony Digital 8 CC to my PC for saving, editing, etc. I'm using Firewire directly connected from CC to PC. I've tried WinDV to no avail, it won't capture off the CC, just looks for already captured video. Same with DVIO. Same with scenalyzer. The only one that has shown any vid at all onscreen has been Virtualdub but that thing is so incredibly complicated I can't figure it out. I just want a simple program to DL off the tapes I have to my PC for saving. I can handle some settings, like deinterlacing and audio and video size and type, etc. I'm just trying to get the friggin thing TO the PC so I CAN do something with it! What programs, preferably free, is available and from this century that can capture the friggin video off the CC to the PC so I can get it on my PC??? I've been through so many programs and settings my head is spinning. Need serious help here.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    "CC" means some sort of memory card?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Oh I see....CC is "camcorder" I guess. Most camcorders need to be in playback mode (viewable through the LCD screen) to enable firewire transfer.
    Quote Quote  
  4. There were windows 7 driver issues with some firewire devices. Since none of the apps would capture your problem may lie there. A bad port is another possibility.
    (I also had to read this repeatedly to figure out what "CC" meant. Very non-standard.)
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search PM