VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search PM
    I have been following the threads on this and other sites that refer to the Philips DVDR3455h/37 and other Philips models.
    Last week, my unit froze while finalizing a DVD. I had been anticipating that the hard drive in the unit was going to eventually die, as it had been running for about 10 years now, off and on. I thought I was prepared as I had another WD 160 GB drive, very similar to the original drive, and a CD that I had burned the firmware update files to.
    For some reason, I don't seem to be able to get the unit to proceed past "LOAD". When I power the unit on, the front panel shows "PHILIPS", then "LOAD". The optical drive starts reading the CD, and head seeking sounds can be heard for a few seconds. The drive tray then opens, and the process repeats.
    I have been working in IT for about 20 years, so I am familiar with most repair techniques.
    I have tried several CDs of different ages and media formulations.
    I have tried using a different optical drive, which was a DVD burner from a PC. The drive had successfully read CDs and DVDs to the Philips unit when I had used it as a stand in while replacing the belt on the original drive. It was able to burn but not finalize a disc though.
    I have tried the WD 160GB I had designated as the replacement drive, as well as a WD 40GB and a WD 80GB. They all seen to POST then go idle when the unit is powered up.
    The unit does not seem to recognize any front panel key codes. It doesn't do anything until the power button is pressed. The power button is not recognized if any other buttons are being pressed at the same time.
    The TV shows the waterdrop wallpaper and the Philips logo when the unit is powered on. I don't see any other on screen info.
    I have read the service manual and all it shows is to use the firmware CD whether you need to upgrade the firmware or initialize a new drive.