VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. aloha!

I'm new to dvdauthor (dvdauthor.sourceforge.net/), but I want to use it to create some autoplay DVDs, no menus. I'm trying to keep it simple, but I want chapters every 5 minutes. The following control XML produces a VIDEO_TS folder that plays, but I can't skip from chapter to chapter, and I can't scrub the timeline:

<dvdauthor dest="newfolder">
    <vmgm />
    <titleset>
    <titles>
    <video format="ntsc" aspect="4:3" />
    <pgc>
    <vob file="Test.mpg" chapters="0,5:00,10:00,15:00,20:00" />
    </pgc>
    </titles>
    </titleset>
    </dvdauthor>

Am I missing something in the XML? Or is there something that I need to be doing for the .mpg?
    Test.mpg was created with ffmpeg, like so:
    ffmpeg -i Test.m2v -i Test.ac3 -vcodec copy -acodec copy -f dvd Test.mpg
    Quote Quote  
  2. Turns out that this issue relates to ffmpeg and not dvdauthor.

My interpretation of this information could be incorrect, but this is how I understand it: The .mpg was missing "NAV Packets" (in ffmpeg and other encoders, called the presentation time stamp, or PTS) where the chapters could be assigned. To add PTS to the encode, I added "-fflags +genpts" to my ffmpeg (note, according to Superuser, this "must be before the input file is specified with -i"):

ffmpeg -fflags +genpts -i Test.m2v -i Test.ac3 -vcodec copy -acodec copy -f dvd Test.mpg
    Quote Quote  
  3. Why not use one of the front ends for the dvdauthor project where it's easy to set up chapters. Or Muxman where it's also easy to create chapters every 5 minutes, even though it uses frame numbers and not times as dvdauthor. Muxman is a much better authoring program than is ffmpeg, anyway.

Are you really making an MPG? I don't know as I don't ever use ffmpeg. If so, there won't ever be any chapters.
    Quote Quote  
  4. MPG is just a container. And DVDAuthor creates the chapters using the control XML.