VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am a beginner with Adobe Premiere so please excuse me if this is a naive question and terminology.
    The first thing I tried to achieve with Premiere is to convert/compress videos that I capture by my camera. I have been doing this for long long time using NCH Prism Video Converter and It does a good job. It uses AVI container with H.264 codec and compresses a lot while you don't feel much in quality loss. I have been trying to export a video to the same level of compression with kind of similar quality with Premiere, but I haven't yet been successful. The exported files are always larger and lower in quality. I have uploaded the original captured video as well as samples of the videos compressed by Prism and Premiere on my dropbox:

Original (.mov 131.72 MB): https://db.tt/Qp7TUkPt
    Prism (.AVI 18.94 MB): https://db.tt/sREwmMdD
    Premiere (.MP4 20.67 MB): https://db.tt/fhmiRUNk

What I'd like to find is the right format in Premiere to get pretty similar quality&size as I get with Prism. As you can see in the above videos, the Premiere one is larger and more noisy (pixels are distorted especially when the camera is moving and you can see noises that cause pixels to seem jumpy/jaggy - sorry I don't know the exact name of this kind of noise).

I tried MediaInfo to see what codec Prism is exactly using. It seems that it is using AVC, but I have no idea on how I can install/use AVC codec in Premiere. Below you can find the detailed information about the codec/format that Prism uses.

I really appreciate any suggestion.

Video
    ID : 0
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : High@L3.0
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
    Codec ID : H264
    Duration : 1mn 3s
    Bit rate : 2 371 Kbps
    Width : 1 920 pixels
    Height : 1 080 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate mode : Variable
    Frame rate : 23.976 fps