VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 22 of 22
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I am new here first off. But all I can seem to find is when connected to HDMI there is no audio

    well thats not quite the problem, I have both audio/video when connecting my Toshiba Sattelite to my Phillips HDTV

    BUT recently, anytime I connect the HDMI cable to my laptop, the video freezes (on just the player used) not the tv not the laptop just the player.

    Generally using VLC Media player, but decided to try Windows Media Player as another option but same result, so its not media player specific.

    It works again when I unplug the HDMI cable, and plays through my laptop.

    Have audio/video on the hdmi cable through the TV - but it wont play when the HDMI is connected...

    Any thoughts?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I guess you need to check your video card settings for external monitor, that it is enabled and that it is set for your TV's display capability.

    But what you write does not make that much sense since it is not the player that freezes but the display.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by DB83 View Post
    I guess you need to check your video card settings for external monitor, that it is enabled and that it is set for your TV's display capability.

    But what you write does not make that much sense since it is not the player that freezes but the display.
    No it's the player that freezes - rather the video/audio on said player but it's not player specific
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Clarification

    Define freeze. Does the player crash, or does it just pause? Can you exit the player and play the video on the TV AFTER you've plugged in the HDMI.

    What happens to the laptops screen when you plug HDMI in?
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    rhinebeck-i changed your thread title to a more descriptive one so more people can help you.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
    Clarification

    Define freeze. Does the player crash, or does it just pause? Can you exit the player and play the video on the TV AFTER you've plugged in the HDMI.

    What happens to the laptops screen when you plug HDMI in?
    Player doesn't crash just refuses to play once hdmi is hooked up - if laptop is not connected to hdmi it will play

    Laptops screen goes blank (black) for a second or two and returns to normal

    Have tried connecting hdmi and then opening media player but same results it won't play

    But again it's not a player issue - both vlc and windows media players do the same thing. I've tried previously "working" video files (ones I've watched via hdmi to tv before) with same results.

    Edit to add: have setup to use tv as "expanded" monitor not duplicate so I can multi-task
    Quote Quote  
  7. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    IMHO, 3 possibilities:

    1) corrupted registry and/or drivers

    2) malfunctioning hardware (HDMIwise)

    3) both things
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    IMHO, 3 possibilities:

    1) corrupted registry and/or drivers

    2) malfunctioning hardware (HDMIwise)

    3) both things
    Suggestions to figure out which? I know kind of what you are talking about as far as corrupted registry/drivers

    But not sure how it would be?(not questioning) as the only thing that has caused errors is connecting the hdmi - possibly the cable itself? (It was a cheap cable)
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    In VLC try:

    Tool | Preferences | Video | Output -> Windows GDI video output

    and make sure spdif is disabled too.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
    In VLC try:

    Tool | Preferences | Video | Output -> Windows GDI video output

    and make sure spdif is disabled too.
    Will do so in morning and will let you know
    Quote Quote  
  11. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by rhinebeck View Post
    possibly the cable itself? (It was a cheap cable)
    Nope, I meant (and I should have written) the HDMI port itself.
    If changing the cable makes no difference, then take your laptop to a technician.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 4th Dec 2014 at 00:33. Reason: clarity (or at least I think so)
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    Originally Posted by rhinebeck View Post
    possibly the cable itself? (It was a cheap cable)
    Nope, I meant (and I should have written) the HDMI port itself.
    If changing the cable makes no difference, then take your laptop to a technician.

    to the bolded part..... if its that im not even going to bother, I plan on buying a new laptop around my birthday next year - this one is a few years old....

    its a Toshiba Satelitte L755-S5355

    I have had it at least 2 years, and within the last two months I have just started to use the HDMI output

    So if its the port, I can live without it But yes clarifying that you didn't mean the cable did help.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    This is still confusing. Have you EVER had video playing on the laptop when the hdmi cable is plugged in ?

    Did you ever try the video setting as 'Duplicate' to quote your wording rather than as 'Extended' ?

    My gut feeling, faulty hardware aside, remains that in the current setup certain video functions are being prevented. The normal setup is to use the tv as your monitor controlled through the laptop. The laptop's screen then shows exactly the same as the tv.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by DB83 View Post
    This is still confusing. Have you EVER had video playing on the laptop when the hdmi cable is plugged in ?

    Did you ever try the video setting as 'Duplicate' to quote your wording rather than as 'Extended' ?

    My gut feeling, faulty hardware aside, remains that in the current setup certain video functions are being prevented. The normal setup is to use the tv as your monitor controlled through the laptop. The laptop's screen then shows exactly the same as the tv.
    The TV screen does not show same as the monitor, only carries over the laptops background image (extended projection) these are the options I have when using HDMI - https://forum.videohelp.com/images/imgfiles/lDgYCfL.png I use "extend" not duplicate - it acts as a second screen so I can still use the laptop as it is and not inturrupt video if need be - EDIT TO ADD: when I took that screenshot HDMI is not connected,

    Video before about 3 days ago on HDMI was working 100% fine, video/audio VLC was working, nothing changed no new installed software.

    When I went to play a video 2-3 days ago, it was another downloaded episode of a tv show have been trying to catch up on - worked fine after download (no hdmi cable plugged in) so at night I set laptop on the stand I use for the laptop (about 10feet away from tv - 20' hdmi cable), plugged in HDMI cable and went to play the episode, and it would load with an image in VLC but would not allow me to play it. Unplugged the HDMI cable from laptop and the episode would play

    I have used the hdmi cable to duplicate the monitor of my laptop for friends to watch me work in photoshop. Again everything was working fine until 2-3 days ago, without any reason. Have not changed any settings in VLC or laptop itself, I am the only one in the house who uses the laptop.

    Laptop has not been moved around or on uneven surfaces when plugged in to HDMI, only ever on a flat surface and not moved until everything is unplugged. Not dropped/knocked over when attached to hdmi, HDMI cable not pulled on (run across the wall at floor level on top of floorboard not pinched/kinked twisted/tight)

    One thing is, this is not media player specific, the problem is the same from VLC to Windows Media Player - so its not VLC just acting up, both players will play the video/audio off my laptop without HDMI connected, but once I connect HDMI it wont play (on either player) its like they just stop working?
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    So when it is on 'Extend' what appears on the tv ?

    VLC does have a setting as to which display is active if you have more than one.

    So, again, have you tried 'Duplicate' ? If not, try it and report back.
    Last edited by DB83; 4th Dec 2014 at 08:17. Reason: clarity
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Duplicate yielded the same results and problem

    I don't see how it could be vlc when the problem lies within any meda program and is not player specific
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    More diagnostic

    Youtube wouldnt even play with hdmi connected
    Uninstalled anything installed in the last 5 days (one thing apparently)
    Uninstalled VLC
    Restarted laptop

    Youtube plays now

    In process of re-downloading and installing VLC
    Quote Quote  
  18. It sounds like something is interfering with the vsync signal in the graphics drivers.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    It sounds like something is interfering with the vsync signal in the graphics drivers.
    Whatever I did fixed the initial problem

    Thanks everyone for the help brainstorming
    Quote Quote  
  20. It would be useful to know what piece of software was installed which may very well have been the cause of the problem.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    If I remember correctly it was an update of some sort

    Any way to look through logs of uninstalled software?
    Quote Quote  
  22. The reason could be following:

    1) You cable connector is not plug in properly
    2) error with regedit as well as driver issue
    3) your cable is dead

    If you want a cheaper hdmi cable, you can check http://www.primecables.com/p-312903-cab-5499-20ft-premier-series-14inch-ts-or-mono-pho...ed-primecables
    Quote Quote  
Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!