VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi

Some of the video I'm trying to clean-up has multiple problems and I'm not sure what I'm looking at.
    (I apologise if this file is too large, I'd normally upload something half this size or less, but in this case the details might help.)

I'm using AVSPmod to clean transferred 8mm film image.
    I'm new to the work so I'm adding Filters to my Script as I gain a reasonable understanding of each.
    Even so, some of the Filters keep their default settings because I don't understand enough to change them.
    Until now these settings have worked well 'out of the box' but now I'm looking at some frames from near the beginning of a film spool, which are in such a mess that I'm not sure which problems have priority--problems whose treatment might help fix some of the other symptoms I'm seeing.

Here are the Filters I'm using thus far. (The settings seen here haven't been changed from the last job I did.)

ConvertToYV12()
    Tweak(bright=-95, cont=1, sat=1 )
    # WarpSharp(depth = 30, threshold = 40 )
    TTempSmooth( maxr = 7)
    TTempSmooth( lthresh = 4, cthresh = 5 )
    TTempSmooth( lmdiff = 2, cmdiff = 3 )
    TTempSmooth( strength = 2 )
    TTempSmooth( scthresh = 12.0 )
    TTempSmooth( fp = true )
    TTempSmooth( vis_blur = 0)
    WarpSharp(depth = 30, threshold = 40 )
    XSharpen( strength = 30, threshold = 40)
    MC_Spuds(frames = 2, strength = 4, search=2, blocksize=8, pel=2, edgeclean=true, temporal=false, aggressive=true)
    fps=23.976

If you have the time to check this list of Filters and share your comments, I'm interested in your opinion about how to shuffle these Filters so that they're working in an order that best treats the problems, and your opinions on how to tweak settings.
    Should any of these Filters be #'d out this time round, and something else used here?