VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I used MKVToolnix to extract the audio of an MKV file. Currently, I have a .DTS audio file, but I don't know which audio format to convert it to so I can preserve the quality (I don't want any quality loss whatsoever)., I also want to be able to play audio (it's a concert and I want to trim and cut it so that I end up with a song for each file) on an Android phone.

What are the steps to accomplish this? The main thing is to preserve the quality 100% given that the music is from a concert so I am already losing some clarity.

Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. You could convert to FLAC or WAV with Audacity with FFMpeg plugin.

But I guess your DTS might be 5.1 and you'll have to downmix it to stereo for an Andriod phone.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Will try those 2 options when I get home, thanks for the help.

I am new to converting files, so here's a basic statement that I want to know if it's true (and useful): "if a file is not compatible with a device, convert it to a lossless format that is compatible with a device is always the best option for fully preserving the quality of the file in terms of quality and size efficiency." What if the source is really bad (like a low quality mp3 file--would I still want to convert it to FLAC)?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    To fully preserve the quality you MUST convert to lossless and accept the file size is going to be large. Lossy encoding is a size trade off, if you can encode it lossily and it's still acceptable to your ears then you might as well do that. I generally convert AC3 to AAC and to be honest I can't actually tell the difference. If I was making a master that was to be re-encoded to other formats then I'd always use lossless if I don't intend to keep the original.