VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
Thread
  1. adobe premiere writes:
    Enter a value for the level. A negative value decreases the volume level and a positive value increases the volume level. A value of 0.0 represents the original clip’s volume level without adjustment.
    http://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/adjusting-volume-levels.html

    but when a value level is 0.0 in sony vegas it is twice louder than premier's 0.0 volume level with same audio file.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Why would you expect 2 different programs to do something that has no standard the same way?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    It also might be "twice as loud" because you may have miscalibrated/misadjusted the setup of one or both of those apps. Do you KNOW the complete gain structure of your PC and each (pertinent multimedia) app within it?

    @HoserRob, it's not that there's NO standard. More like there are many standards, and you don't know which one(s) each app is subscribing to, or whether the OP is mis-associating.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  4. may it be the cause?
    sony
    Click image for larger version

Name:	q.png
Views:	607
Size:	2.1 KB
ID:	28325

    premiere
    Click image for larger version

Name:	w.png
Views:	430
Size:	9.3 KB
ID:	28326
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by Hoser Rob View Post
    Why would you expect 2 different programs to do something that has no standard the same way?
    You'd set the audio volume in program "A" for a 0dB increase/decrease and expect it not to change, but when setting it the same way for program "B" you'd expect the result to be different?

    Originally Posted by chazz spacey View Post
    but when a value level is 0.0 in sony vegas it is twice louder than premier's 0.0 volume level with same audio file.
    Both programs probably have some sort of normalising function (they can adjust the volume so the peaks are at maximum, or a set level near maximum etc). Is normalising enabled? It's possible the "manual" volume gain adjustment works independently of any normalising so while I don't use either program, that might be something to check.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Most pro NLEs, when set to their default installs, would NOT engage in any kind of automatic normalizing, so I don't think that's it.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  7. i think it is not automatic normalizing.
    Name:  peak2.png
Views: 1061
Size:  18.3 KB

    http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-premiere-pro-cc/normalizing-audio-and-making-samplelevel-edits/

    and VLC plays it loud too than premiere. loud like sony vegas. and i normalized all peaks to 0 and it seems worked. and i think sony actually does automatic normalizing.
    Quote Quote  
  8. if a value of 0.0 represents the original clip’s volume level without adjustment why peak amplitude is -12.8 db?
    Last edited by chazz spacey; 3rd Nov 2014 at 13:33.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Maybe because that was the level set when shot and it hasn't been processed yet. Maybe it has a high RMS/average level so there's no need to raise it up. Maybe there is lots of background noise and the user (you?) doesn't want to inadvertently raise the noise up were the level to be raised (and D.R./Gain processing tools can't or won't be used). Maybe it already matches the overall level of other elements which DO have higher peaks, so it doesn't make sense to raise it up and then have to lower it down again.

    There are lots of possible reasons. What's your reason for needing EVERYTHING at 0dB? Do you hear the world always full out?

    Another question I have: why are you using 2 different NLEs to get the job done?

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  10. Isn't the normalising option checked in your pic? Which program is that?

    if a value of 0.0 represents the original clip’s volume level without adjustment why peak amplitude is -12.8 db?
    The "adjust gain by" value of 0.0 doesn't represent a volume level, it represents a change in volume. +5dB would result in a 5dB increase, -5dB would reduce the volume by 5dB.
    It might be confusing at first because of the way it's represented, but the maximum volume is 0dB. Anything below maximum has a negative value. So -12.8dB means the peak is currently 12.8dB below maximum. Forgetting normalising for the moment, if you set the "adjust gain by" value to +5dB it'd raise the volume by 5dB which would increase the peaks to -7.8dB so the volume would increase, but the peaks would still be 7.8dB below maximum.
    I assume from your pic the peaks are currently at -12.8dB and therefore enabling normalising would increase the volume by 12.8dB and the peaks would be at maximum (0dB).
    I don't understand the difference between the "normalise all peaks" and "normalise maximum peak" options. They must work differently, but I'm not sure how exactly....

    Originally Posted by chazz spacey View Post
    and VLC plays it loud too than premiere. loud like sony vegas. and i normalized all peaks to 0 and it seems worked. and i think sony actually does automatic normalizing.
    If you're going to compare the result using a player, make sure it's the output from each program and the same player each time. I'm not sure what's happening with "VLC plays it loud too" but some players (VLC included) have a volume "boost" which you can set. So with the boost enabled maximum volume isn't maximum, it's louder than maximum.
    And another "gotcha". Some programs (I think Audacity and MP3DirectCut are two examples) have a playback volume control which works by adjusting the Windows volume. For example if you reduce the volume to zero when using MP3DirectCut, the Windows volume is reduced to zero and nothing makes a noise..... I just thought I'd mention it. If a program does that it can effect the volume of another program as a result. That one's bitten me a few times.
    Last edited by hello_hello; 4th Nov 2014 at 20:50.
    Quote Quote  
  11. i just changed master bus mode from 5.1 surround to stereo in sony vegas and problem solved. no too loud sound now and it's 0.0 volume level is same with adobe premiere's.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    I don't understand the difference between the "normalise all peaks" and "normalise maximum peak" options. They must work differently, but I'm not sure how exactly....
    This is in reference to multiple clips. The latter will look at all the clips, find the clip with the highest peak and raise all clips equally by that amount. The former will look to each clip's own highest peak and raise each by their appropriate amount. The latter is more of an "album" approach, while the former works well for dissimilar sources (but not too dissimilar).

    @chazz spacey, Again, why are you working with 2 different editors simultaneously? And why are you changing the master bus mode? Hopefully/surely not just to "fix the audio".

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by chazz spacey View Post
    adobe premiere writes:
    Enter a value for the level. A negative value decreases the volume level and a positive value increases the volume level. A value of 0.0 represents the original clip’s volume level without adjustment.
    http://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/adjusting-volume-levels.html

    but when a value level is 0.0 in sony vegas it is twice louder than premier's 0.0 volume level with same audio file.
    I use AudioCoder to adjust volume on the fly ...it create a new audio file right next to your video.
    Then:
    Use AVStoDVD to joint you new audio file to your video:
    - Right click the file > Audio Track > Remove
    - Right click the file (again) > add Audio Track (new audio file)

    If you have multiple clips with diff. Volume levels.
    - Load "all" the files to AudioCoder
    - AudioCoder > Sound > (Check) Normalize Volume, etc.
    - Replace "all" you new audio files one at the time at AVStoDVD.

    http://www.fosshub.com/AudioCoder.html
    Good Luck.
    Last edited by DJ_ValBec; 18th Nov 2014 at 15:34.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    What a wasteful idea! And not one that gets to the heart of the OP's seeming (but not necessarily real) problem.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  15. @chazz spacey, Again, why are you working with 2 different editors simultaneously? And why are you changing the master bus mode? Hopefully/surely not just to "fix the audio".
    i dont know. also it is cracked version. you can't import ac3 files without video container to sony vegas. but you can import and edit them in premiere pro. and i used these softwares for some tests.
    can you explain why this is happening?: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJ1XNrEqPaI
    i think it is automatically downmixes imoprted 5.1 audio to stereo.

    i need to downmix 5.1 to stereo. but when i do this exported stereo audio sound is low. but when i extract all 6 channels from 5.1 audio and add them to 6 tracks and mix them to stereo sound level is not reduced. will it make any difference if i use multitrack(6 channels) mix to stereo? will it sound different from the original?
    Last edited by chazz spacey; 18th Nov 2014 at 16:58.
    Quote Quote  
  16. I think I read on another threat that Vegas is better that Premiere.
    I haven't using either one of them yet.
    AudioCoder do what I need & quick.
    - It have many configurations (Original, Mono, stereo, 4 channels, 5.1, 7.1, etc.)
    - It have a normalize volume option, etc.
    Try it & compare to the one's you use.

    Good Luck.
    Last edited by DJ_ValBec; 19th Nov 2014 at 15:04.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by DJ_ValBec View Post
    I think I read on another threat that Vegas is better that Premiere.
    With the Pro versions it is strictly a matter of personal preference. Both are excellent.
    Quote Quote