VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey VideoHelpers

I can't seem to find an answer or a solution - here's what i need to do:
    Big screen shows a live video from a camera and i need to create about 25 frames of fading ghosting (i.e if somebody moves in the scene a fading ghost trail of him will be left behind for a second). Anybody here can suggest what hardware or software i need to use to get that kind of effect. Sorry if the question really has a simple answer, i'm new to live video.
    See the image to better get my idea:Click image for larger version

Name:	original6.jpg
Views:	733
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	28059

Thank you, your help is appreciated!
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    You need something that has a loop-able delay device.

So instead of Input frames being:

F0_F1_F2_F3_F4_F5

you get Output frames being:

F0+F1_F1+F2_F2+F3_F3+F4_F4+F5_F5+F6
    or
    F0+F1+F2_F1+F2+F3_F2+F3+F4_F3+F4+F5_F4+F5+F6_F5+F6 +F7
    etc.

And the brightness/transparency of the later (fed-back) images would be a function of the intensity of the feedback (there would have to be some compensating reduction of overall brightness however).

This can be done easily with files in most NLEs and with AVISynth (I have done this myself), but I don't know what devices do exactly like what you're asking - LIVE. You would want something like "video echo" or "video delay line" or "video frame delay", etc. This is similar to, but not having the same properties as, Optical feedback. Also similar to slow framerate light trails (both operate with fed-back frame-delayed images). It's possible that a standard Frame Synchronizer might have that feature as an optional artistic "effect".

Scott
    Last edited by Cornucopia; 21st Oct 2014 at 01:36.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Just throwing out some ideas, not sure if/how well they will work