VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi folks, this is my first post and I'm totally new to digital video, so please bear with me.

I've searched this and other forums for an answer to my problem, but the only thread that came up here with pretty much the same question was from 2007 and went unanswered (a bad precedent I'd say).

Here's the situation: I live in Brazil and in some regions here they use a 240V/60Hz (NOT 50Hz) AC supply, but analog TV is based on 60Hz/30fps. They also use Japan's ISDB-T system for terrestrial DTV. I assume all modern TVs sold here comply with those standards.

Now, I want to get this AV receiver from Harman/Kardon, an European model that works on 240V, between my video sources and this Samsung smart TV, using HDMI connections. Those video sources are basically internet programming like Netflix, directly fed to the smart TV - it's connected to the internet via a regular network cable and its firmware had lots of apps from Youtube, the BBC, Vimeo etc. - and an Intel NUC PC for games and other video.

Problem is, the Harman receiver specs say it's PAL. My questions:

1. Can the PAL AV receiver handle HDMI passthrough from the NUC?
    2. Will the HDMI audio backfeed from the TV work with this PAL receiver, considering (my guess that) the TV is likely to be playing NTSC(ish, 30fps-based) programming from the internet and whatever other sources (aerial, digital cable/sat etc.)?

To sum it all up, I guess the main question is "will I be OK with this particular receiver or should I bite the bullet and get an NTSC receiver and a step down transformer?"

Thanks in advance for your replies.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM