VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I'm a real newbie to this and a first time user on this forum, so I apologize if I'm making any stupid mistakes as a user here.

I want to rip my "The Wire" DVD collection to my computer so that it would play on Windows Media Player. The series is all in the 4:3 aspect ratio, and it's in 480i SDTV format. When I tried to rip it using Handbrake, all I did was scan the DVD, choose the "Normal" preset, and started ripping it. I then tried again with "High Profile" and there was no success there either - both cases resulted in really choppy audio and the picture itself was really messed up (random blocky colors all over the place), so it wasn't watchable.

My question is, should I be using a different preset here? Should I be messing with the picture/video settings? I primarily want it to be playable on windows media player in reasonably good quality because the show isn't even in HD, but if it's possible to make it also compatible for the iPhone that'd be nice.
    Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Are you converting directly from the dvd?

Try instead rip the dvd to your hdd with another real dvd ripper like dvdfab decrypter, anydvd, dvdfab passkey, etc. Then convert the video_ts folder to mp4 with handbrake.

If same problem then try other dvd to mp4 converters like vidcoder(based on handbrake), staxrip.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Handbrake is beloved by the geeks, but is a total honking PITA if you are a casual user with no tech education who just wants to rip a decent file. The Handbrake interface makes no sense whatsoever to casual users: many settings do the exact opposite of what you would think from their labels or description.