VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 30 of 30
Thread
  1. Hello to all! I have a Magnavox combo dvd/vcr recorder (ZV457MG9) and I'm trying to connect it to my Metrocast hd box but no luck. Can anyone help me because I want to record from the box. I would appreciate it. Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    ...and what is the manufacturer's name and model number for the HD box ?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Does the Metrocast box have composite (yellow RCA) or s-video (4 pin DIN) outputs? What have you tried so far? Or do we have to guess? And you do realize you won't be recording anything in HD?
    Quote Quote  
  4. I think the manufacturer is Motorola model number is DCX3200
    Quote Quote  
  5. Use the red/white RCA for audio, yellow RCA for video, with a standard A/V cable:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	back.png
Views:	3884
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	22475

    For better image quality use an s-video cable instead of the yellow composite cable (to the right of the composite output in the above diagram).

    http://www.amazon.com/RiteAV-Audio-Video-Cable-feet/dp/B000V0DY7U/
    http://www.amazon.com/feet-Gold-Plated-S-Video-Cable/dp/B0002MQGK4/

    Be sure the recorder is set up to record from the correct inputs.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Is the diagram the metrocast box or the magnavox box?
    Quote Quote  
  7. I tried connecting it yesterday and I have a picture but no sound at all? Neep help
    Quote Quote  
  8. The picture is from the DCX3200 manual -- which is the device you said you had. We know you need help. But we're not mind readers. Unless you tell us exactly what you tried we have no way of knowing what the problem is. What cables and inputs/outputs did you use.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    I think the manufacturer is Motorola model number is DCX3200
    jagabo's instructions for connecting the box should work, but if using the back panel connections of the ZV457MG9 make sure you read the labels. One set of A/V connections is for input (the lefthand group in the set nearest the RF Out/Antenna connections) and the other is for output. The set of connections in the front is only for input. You also need to select the correct input on the ZV457MG9 to record or see a picture and hear audio.

    Some HD boxes provide output on all their connections at the same time. Others only provide output on their analog conections if HDMI is not connected. I'm not personally familiar with the Motorola DCX3200, so I can't say for certain which is true for it. If you don't see a picture using its composite or S-Video connections you may be forced to disconnect the HDMI cable.
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 31st Dec 2013 at 12:06.
    Quote Quote  
  10. I connected the cables to the out on the Metrocast box and the in on the magnavox box. I used the audio video cables for a dvd player but I got a picture but no sound at all
    Quote Quote  
  11. There may also be setup options on the cable box to enable/disable the analog RCA audio outputs.
    Quote Quote  
  12. I don't know maybe there are not the right cables to use. I don't understand I have a clear picture but no sound coming anywhere.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    I don't know maybe there are not the right cables to use. I don't understand I have a clear picture but no sound coming anywhere.
    Connect the cable box to your TV with the same cables. If you have both picture and sound, then you will know you have the right cables and the cable box is providing audio.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Ok I tried the cables to the tv and the box same problem... I have a picture but no sound.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Will the cables that you all suggested work with my problem?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    Ok I tried the cables to the tv and the box same problem... I have a picture but no sound.
    Does the A/V cable provide both picture and audio if you use it to connect a DVD player to the TV? Does the A/V cable provide both picture and audio if you use it to connect the cable box to the TV?
    Quote Quote  
  17. It provides picture and sound when I connect the dvd player to the tv.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    Will the cables that you all suggested work with my problem?
    Assuming that nothing is defective, the cables should work if your cable box is providing composite video and stereo audio output. I have different models, but use the same type of cable (composite A/V) to connect my Magnavox DVD recorder and my Motorola HD cable box. I have have been recording programming that way for a few months.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    It provides picture and sound when I connect the dvd player to the tv.
    So, the cable itself is fine.

    What about connecting the cable box and the TV using the same A/V cable? I'm trying to figure out if the problem is on the cable box side of the connection or the DVD recorder side of the connection
    Quote Quote  
  20. I tried that earlier same problem
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    I tried that earlier same problem
    So if a direct connection between the cable box and your TV using the composite A/V cable is not providing audio, the cable box is the source of the problem.

    If you disconnect the HDMI cable from the TV and cable box, does anything change?
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 31st Dec 2013 at 14:15.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Same issue I turn to L1 rear and I remove the hdmi cord and hook the cable box and tv together and same problem
    Quote Quote  
  23. When I disconnect the hdmi cord from the both things I do not have a picture because the input for the metrocast box is HDMI.
    Quote Quote  
  24. My input for my dvd recorder is component and I have to use L1 for the cable box but all I get is a picture but no sound
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    Same issue I turn to L1 rear and I remove the hdmi cord and hook the cable box and tv together and same problem
    If a direct connection between the cable box and your TV using the composite A/V cable is not providing audio, either there is a setting in the cable box's menus that needs to be changed or the cable box is defective. I would call Metrocast's technical support for help, and if they can't help you fix the problem, you can arrange to exchange the cable box for a working replacement.
    Quote Quote  
  26. I just got it to work! Thanks for all your help!!
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    I just got it to work! Thanks for all your help!!
    just remember the some cable/satellite channels are encrypted and cannot be recorded.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    I just got it to work! Thanks for all your help!!
    Why don't you tell us what you did that got the audio working? Maybe it will help the next person who comes along with the same problem.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Originally Posted by jcool26 View Post
    I just got it to work! Thanks for all your help!!
    just remember the some cable/satellite channels are encrypted and cannot be recorded.
    The problem is not encryption. Cable boxes decrypt every channel included in the subscribed package. The potential problem is analog copy protection flags, copy once which can be used to restrict recording for anything but local over-the-air channels, or copy never, which can be used on premium channels like HBO to prevent recording. DVD recorders honor the flags, but the flags may or may not be used, depending on the individual service provider's policies.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Thanks again! The component audio cables were not hooked up properly hence thats why I had no sound.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads