VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I want to make a series of educational videos for artists. These would be distributed either as DVD's or on a pay/subscription streaming service. I want to have some decent background music and I want to do it perfectly legally.

Where can I learn more about distribution rights for the background music used in videos? What are some sources for such music and how are the royalty/licensing arrangements made? Is there a good introductory website or tutorial on this topic?

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You're probably better off purchasing "buy-out" music where you own it and can use it as many times as you wish. I think I bought a few cd's from footagefirm/videoblocks for $8 each to bolster a recent production. Luckily, I'm a musician and rarely have to do such.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by zoobie View Post
    You're probably better off purchasing "buy-out" music where you own it and can use it as many times as you wish. I think I bought a few cd's from footagefirm/videoblocks for $8 each to bolster a recent production. Luckily, I'm a musician and rarely have to do such.
    I went to their website and listened to some of their music and it all sounds like cheap synthesized crap. I want to use real music - preferably classical.

I'm also surprised that in 24 hours I only got 1 response to this question. Is this the wrong place to ask this?
    All the more specialized forums seem to be related to technical questions. A lot of my video-related questions are not so much technical but more related to production, distribution, composition, or, stuff like this thread.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I use Smartsound when I need high quality background music. The albums and tracks are pricey, but I think it's worth it. Right now, I believe they are running a sale on albums.

Brainiac