VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi. I got this old DVD of a movie I was looking for some really long time. And I like to digitize my video collection, but this one is very bad source. I tried using Decimate and Srestore various settings, but didn't help, I either get missing or duplicate frames or both at the same time.

I attached a 15 seconds long source file. Please someone who has time, maybe you can try encode it with correct settings and get best of it and then paste me the settings you used on your .avs script?

Thanks,
    Cheers.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. Use whatever bobber you want then Tdecimate(mode=2, rate=23.3) comes very close. I saw only one duplicate in the sequence, no drops. So maybe 23.25 or 23.2.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Hi, I am new to this. What's a bobber? Google gives bunch of motorcycle websites.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by rhaz View Post
    What's a bobber?
    In AviSynth: Bob(), Yadif(mode=1), QTGMC(), Interleave(TFM(field=1), TFM(field=0)), etc.

Of course, you wouldn't want to use Bob() because it's very low quality.
    Last edited by jagabo; 8th Nov 2013 at 09:30.
    Quote Quote  
  5. So you mean a deinterlacer? I recognize Yadif from this list.
    Quote Quote  
  6. A "bob" is a double frame rate deinterlace. Ie, it converts your 25i source to 50p.

Code:
    Mpeg2Source("test-001_track1_und.d2v", info=3)
    AssumeTFF()
    Trim(2,0) # open GOP has two junk frames at the start, skip them
    QTGMC(preset="very fast") # 25i to 50p
    Tdecimate(mode=2, rate=23.27) # remove duplicates
    or

Code:
    Mpeg2Source("test-001_track1_und.d2v", info=3)
    AssumeTFF()
    Yadif(mode=1, order=1) # 25i to 50p
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  7. 40th frame is duplicate in your attached file. I tried 23.2 it gave every second frame as duplicate. I also tried 23.35 it gave like every 220th duplicate frame.
    Quote Quote  
  8. I'll leave the fine tuning up to you.