VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
Thread
  1. I am building a home and will have a TV above the fireplace. Next to the fireplace will be a cabinet with all the "boxes" for the TV. I need to get multiple sources switched on to 1 hdmi feed into the TV. I currently have 2 x hdmi & 1 Component input. I would like the flexibility to add a computer input and a game input. Can someone recommend a remote controlled switch that will do this? I would like to keep the price under about $250.

    Thanks,


    PickyBiker
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Where do you live? The available switches and retail outlets for obtaining them will differ according to your location.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by PickyBiker View Post
    I need to get multiple sources switched on to 1 hdmi feed into the TV. I currently have 2 x hdmi & 1 Component input. I would like the flexibility to add a computer input and a game input. Can someone recommend a remote controlled switch that will do this?
    You can't send component video over HDMI so, in addition to an HDMI switch, you'll need a device that digitizes component video and converts it to HDMI. Something like this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Component-Digital-Audio-Converter/dp/B0034HWQ4Y/
    http://www.amazon.com/Etekcity%C2%AE-Component-YPbPr-Converter-Adapter/dp/B00BNHSQPK/

    (I can't vouch for their performance, just giving examples. Note the audio inputs too.) Or an A/V receiver that has that ability.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm in Tyler, TX.

    If I toss my current VCR/DVD combo for a new Blueray player, then all my inputs could be HDMI.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Something like this...?

    http://www.amazon.com/Portta-PET0301S-HDMI-Switcher-Support/dp/B00B46XUQU/ref=sr_1_1/1...=hdmi+splitter

    or...

    http://www.amazon.com/MarginMart-Inc-PET0301D-1-Out-Switch/dp/B0018DQYQ2/ref=sr_1_2/18...=hdmi+splitter

    ...or one of the MANY other options by typing "HDMI splitter" in the amazon search box.

    Anything else you'd like us to do for you?
    Quote Quote  
  6. He wants a switcher, not a splitter. And he needs more than 3 inputs. Try something like this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Kinivo-501BN-Premium-wireless-adapter/dp/B0049SCB2Y/

    5 inputs, automatic switching when a device switches on, IR remote. Of course, there are many others to choose from at Amazon.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Yes, the Kinivo 501BN Premium 5 port High speed HDMI switch is just what I need and it is WELL under the $250 price I mentioned.

    Cool forum, THANK YOU!
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Jagabo's suggestion is reasonably priced and looks very good from the posted reviews. I would probably go with that one myself.

    If you feel you should spend more, CE Labs has a reputation for building high-quality products and makes a 4-in-1-out switch. http://www.amazon.com/CE-HM41SR-1-Out-Switcher-Remote/dp/B0016A59AO/ref=sr_1_1 ...but if you need 3D, I would contact them because the specs say nothing about it. Unfortunately there are no user reviews.

    From posts I have seen here HDMI can sometimes be a very fussy connection. There is no guarantee that any HDMI switch will work perfectly in every set-up. Sometimes individual components just don't want to cooperate with each other even without a switch in between.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    He wants a switcher, not a splitter. And he needs more than 3 inputs.
    Go back and look at the first link I offered. Even though "splitter" is in the URL, that device is actually a switcher, with 3 inputs, and has a remote. It is not pricey, either.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    I'd go for the CE Labs unit. I agree with hello+hello, CE makes makes clean, durable components. I've been using their stuff for years, and you see them used in commercial showrooms everywhere. No way I'd trust a $10 or $20 switch box.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 09:52.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by filmboss80 View Post
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    He wants a switcher, not a splitter. And he needs more than 3 inputs.
    Go back and look at the first link I offered. Even though "splitter" is in the URL, that device is actually a switcher, with 3 inputs, and has a remote. It is not pricey, either.
    Yes, I know the devices you linked to were switchers. But you told him to search for splitters. He'll get better results searching for switchers.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Then there's the issue of switching a computer. If the computer has HDMI output you don't need anything more. But if it has DVI you'll need a DVI to HDMI cable (or adapter) for the video.

    http://www.amazon.com/Importer520-Plated-Female-DVI-D-Adapter/dp/B0035B4LJM/

    If you want audio over that link too you'll need a device that mixes digital or analog audio onto the HDMI signal.

    http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Digital-Optical-Toslink-Converter/dp/B0038XNTWW/

    If the computer only as VGA out (like many laptops) you'll need a VGA to HDMI scan converter.


    Those are just the first examples I found, not recommendations for those particular devices.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    I'd go for the CE Labs unit. I agree with hello+hello, CE makes makes clean, durable components. I've been using their stuff for years, and you see them used in commercial showrooms everywhere. No way I'd trust a $10 or $20 switch box.
    hello+hello isn't a participant in this thread and so couldn't have suggested an HDMI switch for the OP.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by usually_quiet View Post
    Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    I'd go for the CE Labs unit. I agree with hello+hello, CE makes makes clean, durable components. I've been using their stuff for years, and you see them used in commercial showrooms everywhere. No way I'd trust a $10 or $20 switch box.
    hello+hello isn't a participant in this thread and so couldn't have suggested an HDMI switch for the OP.
    Corrected.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 19th Mar 2014 at 09:52.
    Quote Quote  
  15. My computer has an HDMI output so the swtch with just hdmi inputs is fine. I actually decided on a 4X4 switch so I can hook it up to multiple TV's. Now the problem is the first two TV are close to the box and HDMI cable length is no problem. I do have another TV about 65' away, so is there an hdmi to RG6 converter that will handle that one without losing quality?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Which unit did you end up getting? It'll be nice to hear how it turned out for you.

    As a side note, some in this thread may be unfamiliar with the fact that a lot of HDMI splitters are switchers and will automatically switch to the device that is turned on. (Of course, the other devices not in use need to be switched off.)
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by PickyBiker View Post
    I do have another TV about 65' away, so is there an hdmi to RG6 converter that will handle that one without losing quality?
    No. RG6 only has one wire, which isn't nearly enough to carry a signal for HDMI, but there are HDMI extenders and extenders for sending HDMI over Cat 5e or Cat 6 Ethernet cable.

    http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041914&p_id=2849&seq=1&format=2
    http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011012&p_id=6532&seq=1&format=2
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 7th Nov 2013 at 20:12.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Search Comp PM
    Are you also installing a sound system? You really should if you want a good viewing experience.

    If so, most good HT receivers should have multiple HDMI and analog inputs, and an HDMI output for the TV.

    Plug the receiver into the TV. 2 x hdmi & 1 Component outputs from the devices into the receiver.

    Job done.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Thanks for the info on sound. Unfortunately, I am 66 years old and have poor hearing. I will likely use a wireless headset for sound.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Then there's the issue of switching a computer. If the computer has HDMI output you don't need anything more. But if it has DVI you'll need a DVI to HDMI cable (or adapter) for the video.

    http://www.amazon.com/Importer520-Plated-Female-DVI-D-Adapter/dp/B0035B4LJM/

    If you want audio over that link too you'll need a device that mixes digital or analog audio onto the HDMI signal.

    http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Digital-Optical-Toslink-Converter/dp/B0038XNTWW/
    I have the Monoprice box (second link). It works perfectly and is well made. I use it to connect my mini PC to my TV (DVI + optical to HDMI). Keeps the connection alive too in case the PC goes to sleep or I switch TV inputs and come back to the PC. Before that, the HDMI from the PC would just go black if I switched away and came back to it.


    Darryl
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads