VideoHelp Forum




+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Search PM
    Hey,

    normaly I use this script in MeGui:
    Code:
    AVISource("Y:\Videos\test.avi", audio=false).AssumeFPS(15,1)
    #deinterlace
    #crop
    LanczosResize(1920,1200) # Lanczos (Sharp)
    #denoise
    
    
    ConvertToYV12()
    But as I saw that MeGUI only uses 30-40% of my cpu power I decided to add avisynth.


    But as soon as I try to run this:
    Code:
    SetMTmode(5,0)
    AVISource("Y:\Videos\test.avi", audio=false).AssumeFPS(15,1)
    SetMTMode(2,0)
    #deinterlace
    #crop
    LanczosResize(1920,1200) # Lanczos (Sharp)
    #denoise
    
    
    ConvertToYV12()
    I get this Error:

    Code:
    MeGUI encountered a fatal error and may not be able to proceed. Reason: Der Objektverweis wurde nicht auf eine Objektinstanz festgelegt.
    Translation:
    Code:
    Object reference not set to an object instance.
    Any Idea what is wrong with it ?
    Quote Quote  
  2. With a simple script like that you don't need to use multithreading. What codec are you compressing with?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Search PM
    I thought multithreading would speed up the encoding, because atm it only uses 30% of my cpu as taskmanager tells me.

    x264 | mkv
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Search PM
    I just tried the latest megui beta which gives me another error:

    Code:
    Error parsing avs file
    Script error: there is no function named "SetMTMode"
    (Y:\Videos\test.avs, line 1)
    Quote Quote  
  5. "no function named SetMtMode" means you don't have a multithreaded build of AviSynth. There are no official multithreaded builds. Try here:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=148782

    But with Just AviSource() and LacnzosResize() there is no need for multithreaded AviSynth. Your low CPU usage problem is elsewhere.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Search PM
    ahh, looks like FrameServer is slowing it down. Any idea how to speed this up ?

    Should I use "SetMTMode" when I resize the video ?
    Last edited by Slind; 31st Oct 2013 at 09:26.
    Quote Quote  
  7. What are you frame serving from?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Search PM
    Premiere -> debug FrameServer -> MeGUI -> MKVMerge
    Quote Quote  
  9. I frame serve from Vegas with CPU 100% (just basic script like yours even upscale), uncompressed video on timeline, Megui or just command line, it seems weird that would be different than coming from Vegas. If it is true it would be out there, somebody would complain about it before, try to google it.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Search PM
    I already googled it, there is nothing related.

    I use MeGUI not the command line way.


    I exported the video as a lossless avi and run it through megui and it was 3 times faster with 90-100% cpu usage.


    Which CPU do you have ? Maybe FrameServer has a problem with HyperThreading, but I canīt find a special Intel version.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Search PM
    mhh, thats 4 threas vs 8 threads, maybe FrameServer has a problem with that
    Quote Quote  
  12. I've a problem with avisynt mt. I don't have administrator privileges and i can't add avisynt mt in system32. I've tried to put the dll. in megui but when i use "SetMtMode" it says "there is no function named..." means that it does not load the dll.How can i do for use MT without put the dll in system32?
    Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by JohnLocke View Post
    I've tried to put the dll. in megui but when i use "SetMtMode" it says "there is no function named..." means that it does not load the dll.
    Did you replace ...\megui\tools\avs\avisynth.dll with the mt version?
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by JohnLocke View Post
    I've tried to put the dll. in megui but when i use "SetMtMode" it says "there is no function named..." means that it does not load the dll.
    Did you replace ...\megui\tools\avs\avisynth.dll with the mt version?
    Yes, i've tried with stable versione and current version, and still remain the error message. Admin has replaced the dll in system32 but does not work MT mode.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Check the root folder where MeGUI is installed for avisynth.dll and devil.dll. If those files are there, MeGUI will use them and ignore the installed version of Avisynth as well as the version in the avs folder.
    The version of Avisynth in the \megui\tools\avs\ folder will only be used if there's no Avisynth in the root directory and if there's not an installed version of Avisynth present. Avisynth.dll and devil.dll shouldn't be in the root MeGUI directory by default (so MeGUI uses the system version of Avisynth if it's installed) but sometimes it seems to put them there for some reason. Although it's handy.... because then you can have one version of Avisynth installed while MeGUI uses a different, portable version.
    Anyway... if avisynth.dll and devil.dll are in MeGUI's root directory that should be the version it's using. You can put them there yourself or delete them if need be (if you delete them, delete them both).

    The log file should tell you what's happening. If it's using the "system" version, the log file (under Versions) should look something like this (obviously it'll reflect the version actually installed):

    --[Information] [30/10/13 6:08:41 AM] AviSynth: 2.5.8.5 (21-12-2008)


    If it's using the version in the MeGUI root directory rather than the "installed" version, it'll look like this:

    --[Information] [31/10/13 7:42:04 PM] AviSynth: 2.5.8.5 (21-12-2008) (inactive)
    --[Information] [31/10/13 7:42:04 PM] AviSynth portable: 2.6.0.4 (18-09-2013) (active)
    --[Information] [31/10/13 7:42:04 PM] DevIL: 1.6.6 (26-05-2004)


    I'm not sure what the log file looks like if it's using the version in the AVS folder when there's no system version installed, but hopefully it'll tell you it's using the portable version.

    Personally I think the MT versions of Avisynth are more trouble than they're worth. I just use a single threaded version and if I'm using slow filters (ie QTGMC etc), I run two encodes at a time to push the CPU to 100%. Or I make a copy of a script and use trim() so each script encodes around half the video, then I run them simultaneously and append the two encodes with MKVMergeGUI.

    PS. I've also discovered, if you have Avisynth installed, it'll auto-load all the plugins in the Avisynth/plugins folder even if MeGUI is using a portable/different version of Avisynth (ie the version in MeGUI's root directory). Generally that's a good thing but still something to be aware of if you have lots of plugins in the Avisynth/plugins folder as I do, so you don't end up auto-loading plugins which don't play nice with the portable version of Avisynth MeGUI is using.
    Last edited by hello_hello; 9th Nov 2013 at 19:57.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!