VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello all, I have been trying to make a choice on which software to buy but i cannot get a definitive answer.

I am trying to decide between Sony pro Vegas 12 and Avid media composer 7. I have never touched an editing software so I am a beginner in the purest sense. I asked a friend who owns an advertising company and he just said get what feels right (that doesn't work for me)

I am buying these on student rates so they are the same price ($250)

Here are the pros and cons I currently have made for each. Once again, I am a beginner so I do not know what a bunch of the tech specs mean.

Sony Vegas 12 pros.

-unlimited channels for audio and video
    - 4k resolution support
    -1080p-60fps support
    I use soundforge for my audio editing so it works with it

Avid Pros:

- Under the student program i get 4 years of free upgrades
    - Professional grade software

Any advice that you guys can give would be awesome. I am only looking at these 2 items. I have no desire to pay adobe a monthly fee for Premiere.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Do you plan on collaborating with other editors & edit houses? - Get AVID MC.
    Do you plan on being a "one man band"? - Get Sony Vegas Pro.

Do you plan on working with 3D and generating 3DBlu-ray discs immediately? - Get Vegas (for now).

What hardware do you have? Avid's has a somewhat higher requirement than Sony's, but if your hardware fits the bill, edit timeline & other workflow processes likely run a little smoother.

Avid's forte has to do with workflow enhancements & efficiency for HIGH END needs, so certain tricky types of editing is very straightforward to do, and the interface is familiar to old school film & video editing professionals. If you won't be having those needs anytime soon, and since you mention you've never edited before, those specific strengths aren't the deal-makers they might have been.