VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi. I'm a newbie to the site and would appreciate any help anyone can offer.
    My question regards a somewhat old Magnavox DVD recorder/VCR (ZV450MW8). The VCR part broke over a year ago. But, I have been using the DVD recorder to record programs from time to time. It has always recognized and allowed me to record any digital or analog channels I receive through my cable company. I have never had a cable box. The cable runs into the DVD recorder and then runs out to the Sharp HD television.
    About 2 weeks ago I did an automatic reset of the cable channels on the television. I am not convinced that the channel reset had anything to do with the problem, however it was shortly after that that I realized that the DVD recorder now only recognized the analog channels. If I even tried to put in a number with a dot, it automatically turns to the analog station. I have tried resetting the channels on the DVD recorder as well, along with switching the cables (yellow, red, white) to the two other possible hookups on the tv. I have run out of ideas and tonight begins the new season of The Walking Dead.
    I am hoping that someone can give me some new avenues to try or tell me that there is a good possibility that the unit is broken.

I would appreciate any ideas.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    your cable provider like most others is probably moving to all encrypted channels. to force everyone to use their dvr or a cablecard if you are lucky.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM