VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey everyone, I have a video that I want to submit for a competition and the max upload is 30mb. My video includes various tricks and movements and after I rendered it with Sony Vegas it ended up at 240mb...I played around with various compression programs but I can't seem to get it down to that 30mb limit. I shot all the footage in 1920x1080p at the 29.97fps and the video is 2:47 so not very long.

I just really don't know what else to do to compress it, as you can most likely tell I am a newbie when it comes to this. Am I going to have to re-edit the video and take stuff out in order to get the file size down or how can I play around with the compression programs to get it smaller? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    -TJ
    Quote Quote  
  2. You can use this calculator for example: http://bit-calculator.com/ you put there 30 Megabytes and click convert, that will show you 240 Mbit. 240Mbit/167 second=1.4 Mbit/s

that bitrate is good for some SD resolution like 640x360 etc. , so choose Sony avc or MainConcept mpeg4 encoder, 2pass average bitrate 1,400,000 in Vegas
    you can try 1280x720 an the same but quality of the picture will suffer, your 30MB limit is not enough for almost 3min video
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for the link and information, it sounds like I am going to have to take some out and do some re-editing.

I would rather have better quality and lesser quantity than the other way around. thanks again
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    There's no way you're going to get 1920x1080 for 2min 47sec into 30mb. You won't even get half that time in 30mb at that frame size. Does this competition insist on 1920x1080 with a 30mb limit? If so, they're kinda clueless.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 21st Mar 2014 at 09:37.
    Quote Quote