VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all!

I'm a comedy writer who is independently producing my first pilot!

Filming is done, and as I've sit down to edit I've been having some difficulty making the cuts between shots in a scene look smooth (character to character, close up to wide, etc).

Was wondering if anyone had any helpful tips or links to articles/tutorials on the subject?

Thanks so much for any time/help you can give!

Additional info:
    - Shot with one camera
    - In case I didn't use the correct terminology, I'm referring to cutting between shots in a conversation or some other continuous scene.
    Quote Quote  
  2. This is the classic:

http://www.amazon.com/Technique-Editing-Reissue-Edition-Second/dp/0240521854/ref=sr_1_...f+film+editing

You may not think so, but you're asking a HUGE question.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I know so, it has taken me two days to edit two minutes. Do you have any links to tutorials or articles while I'm waiting for the book?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Multimedia storyteller bigass's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ShaneCo View Post
    Filming is done, and as I've sit down to edit I've been having some difficulty making the cuts between shots in a scene look smooth (character to character, close up to wide, etc).

Was wondering if anyone had any helpful tips or links to articles/tutorials on the subject?
    This is where preproduction makes the difference. Storyboard your scene *before* shooting, so you'll know which angles will cut together well. Otherwise you'll find it challenging or even impossible to line up your shots in editing -- eyelines will be wrong, you could end up with shots that don't match up at all, and you could end up with entire pieces of dialogue that wasn't shot at all!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM