+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hello guys,

I need some help, I am not a proffesional wedding videographer,
    but sometimes I was doing that for my friends with my old Panasonic GS400.

Now I was thinking to switch to a new HD camcorder. At the moment my also old Nikod D50 resp. lens has broken down.

Now I am in front of the decision, buy some middle range DSLR with video capatibility or to buy a new lens for Nikon and new HD camcorder with manual settings.

I am a little bit confused how most of the people are switching to DSLR, what is the advantage.
    How you film with DSLR for example a person or bride and groom coming to the isle, it must be hassle by manual operating of the lens on DSLR, don!t you? I have never tried DSLR thatś why these stupid questions.

Is option to have just DSLR for family vacation? I can!t imagine my wife operating DSLR filming my kids.

I will appreciate your comments
    Quote Quote  
  2. You've identified the issues very well.

Speaking broadly, the DSLR is theoretically capable of better picture quality -- mainly becasue of the better lenses. An HD camcorder is designed to shoot video, so the controls and handling make it easier to use -- for both you and your wife.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Video on a DSLR is a little easier if you use a "HoodEye" LCD eyepiece. But, as mentioned, a camcorder is even better.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Agreed budwzr. I can get wonderful hand-held results with the DSLR using the (optical) viewfinder, follow-focus and shoulder brace, but without them I may as well be using an iPhone.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, I gave up on DSLR video mainly because the codec used in my T3i is blocky. It's great for stills though.

I use the HoodEye now just to take stills in LiveView. It's much easier, and WYSIWYG.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search PM
    Thank you guys for a feedback.
    I am leaning towards a new camcorder.