VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi all,

I'm new to ripping and editing, but I'd like to rip some of my blu-rays, edit them (editting out material I find offensive or slows the pacing of the movie) and burn onto a BD. I'd like to do this lossless in all respects (video, audio) if possible.

I have a blu-ray burner on my desktop and have a 1TB external harddrive. I may have some burning software, I'll check it out when I get home.

I'd appreciate any and all help navigating this process so I can learn to do this on my own.

Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    What you are contemplating is much harder than you probably imagined. Besides being huge files, (30 GB - 40 GB) the H.264 format they use is very difficult to edit, especially if you want frame accurate editing. Lossless means no re-encoding and that's not going to happen if you want to just edit the H.264 video anywhere you want. It was not designed for that.

But first you need a BD decrypter, I like AnyDVD HD. Then you can find the main movie with a program like BDInfo. Next use the correct .mpls file to extract the main movie as a .M2ts or .ts file with a program like tsMuxeR GUI.

Then you can try using an editor. I'll let others suggest ones that could work with H.264 files. They can be expensive. Alternately, you can convert the H.264 to a lossless or near lossless format and edit that freely with little restriction. The audio formats on BD videos can also be very difficult to edit. Especially True HD or DTS. You may have to convert those. Then after you have done all your editing, you can convert the file back to a BD compatible format and burn it to a BD. I would only recommend ImgBurn for burning.

Some of these processes take a lot of CPU power. I use a overclocked six core CPU and it take hours to convert H.264 video.