VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all. I'm a newbie, so bear with me. I'm using Womble for most of my workflow, but the dvd reader tool only extracts one vob at a time, and that was way too "interactive" for me. I found vob2mpg and liked that I could just check the vobs I wanted to extract and go do something else while they all got extracted.

But now, after spending untold hours/days/weeks doing this, I have discovered that almost all audio sync is messed up, sometimes in the main mpg I extracted using vob2mpg, but always in the hundreds of clips I have trimmed out of the main mpg file I originally extracted. The sync problem is of the "gradually getting worse" variety, with the audio lagging behind the video.

So I'm not sure what to blame. If I use womble's dvd reader tool, there are no sync problems ever, no matter how I later chop up the clips. I want to use vob2mpg, because it helps my workflow so much. I've tried the gop timecode correction option, and it doesn't help. To keep things going, I'm basically starting from scratch, redoing everything with the womble dvd reader tool, as all the clips derived from vob2mpg are toast. Any ideas on how to deal with this are welcome.

Except please do not reprimand me for not checking the audio sooner. Yes I should have. I already know that, and feel terrible about it. How does one reclaim so much lost time, over something that could have been caught early on? Sigh. Anyway, thanks in advance for your help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    I've been using Vob2Mpg for years and have never seen it produce an mpg file out of sync. You've tested the output from Vob2Mpg before importing into Womble? Are you using Vobset mode or IFO mode? My only complaint about the program is that I can't get it to work in Vobset mode in Windows 8.