VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hi
    I'm a total video noob as I work in SEO but I need to change the meta data in a video file so that Google will read a recent date.

If I inspect the mp4 files with an application I found (MediaInfo) it shows this

Encoded date : UTC 2011-08-10 22:09:14
    Tagged date : UTC 2011-08-10 22:09:14

unfortunately the application only reads the data and won't let me change it

does anyone know of a very simple (and free, if possible) app that can let me update this info without having to re-encode the video files ?

thanks for any help you can give
    Quote Quote  
  2. Just remux the file, for instance with MP4Box.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Hi - thanks for your reply

this may be a stupid question, but is remuxing a long process ? I've just tried re-encoding a 300 MB file and it took about 15 mins and I've got a LOT of files to update !
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Not it's not long, but if your files are really big, it could take a few minutes. A 300 MB file should remux under a minute unless your computer is slow.

re-encoding != remuxing

You are comparing apples and oranges.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Remuxing (re multiplexing) is the process of taking the audio and video streams out of a video container and putting them in a new video container. Like taking a cake out of one box and putting it in another. The cake isn't changed and it's much faster than baking a new cake.

A quick remux with ffmpeg will eliminate the date/time metadata. Put this in a batch file and you can drag/drop files onto it:

"g:\program files\ffmpeg\bin\ffmpeg" -i %1 -vcodec copy -acodec copy "%~n1.remux.mp4"

Change the path to ffmpeg to wherever you have the program installed.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You could set the Encoded date and Tagged date (both are set with this) to any time you want: