VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm a still photographer with a little experience with video editing. I have a client who asked me to author a DVD for them of their family videos all shot on their iPhone. Most of the videos are shot vertical in their phone and when I load the quicktime movies in my computer they all rotate. Is there any authoring software out there that can actually correct for this? With the modern age of everyone shooting video in the wrong direction I was hoping that someone has come up with some kind of solution for this. Youtube auto corrects for this so I was hoping there is some video editing software or something easy to author a DVD that can do this easily. We're talking 130 videos. Any help you guys can provide would be really appreciated. Thanks!!!!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    i think you mean 'From' not 'for'

auto correct?
    i don't know of any
    but plenty of softwzre has a rotate function built into the command stucture or 'filters '
    cropping sizing rotation can all be performed
    by avidemux, virtualdub, avsynth etc

do your corrections, then author the dvd

you do realize that when making dvd compatible files
    you will be cropping of the top and or bottom of their 'rotated' videos to have (at best) a 4:3 STD aspect video
    dvd std does not allow tall vertical videos
    the other option is lots of padding on each side, so the video is resized to the correct height,but takes up only about half the screen, maybe less
    this will not be a fun job.... good luck
    cut 30 seconds up load it and we/somebody will give a finished example
    Last edited by theewizard; 21st Jul 2013 at 14:34.
    Quote Quote