VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    So far, from reading several thread here and in the restoration forum, it seems the best 2 recorders for doing pass-through video capture from a VCR (ie, VCR > DVD Recorder > PC capture) are the Panasonic DMR-ES10 and the Toshiba RD-XS-34. If you had to choose one of these, which would you choose?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I already have a Panasonic DMR-ES10, so that would be my choice. Even if I didn't have one, they were a more popular model and are is easier to find, plus they are much less expensive. The old Toshibas have a fanatical following willing pay almost anything for them, which drives up prices.
    Quote Quote  
  3. It depends on what you need a passthru for. The Panasonic ES10 is the best-known, because it is very strong and can correct some horribly distorted tapes that can't be fixed using any other passthru device. If you have a lot of dodgy tapes with geometric distortion (bending at the top of the screen, shaky verticals in images with doors and windows), you'll want the ES10. The Toshiba offers a much cleaner output with better color, but works best with more "normal" tapes.

    If you only need them as passthru units, avoid those listed as "fully functional." They are old recorders with a cult following that pays handsomely for the few that still have functional DVD burners. You don't need the DVD drive to be functional if all you want is the passthru feature: look for listings that say "dead burner" or "won't load dvds" or "won't record." Esp with the Toshiba, the price difference can be substantial.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    So I got a hold of the Toshiba for a good price, but have no clue how to get it setup for passthrough. I have a PCIe firewire card (http://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-RC-504-FireWire-1394a-Ports/dp/B004F3DM6C/ref=sr_1_1?ie...ewill+firewire).

    But on the Toshiba, the only firewire connection is on the front panel which is labeled "Input 2". If I want to capture the firewire to the card, it needs to be an output, right? I've got the s-video and audio cables going from my vcr output's to the Toshiba input on the back, then the firewire cable from the input on the front panel to the firewire card.

    Unfortunately, WinDV doesn't detect any firewire devices and I have no idea why. The firewire card didn't come with any drivers.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    People usually implement Firewire capture to cap analog or DV video to DV format. If you are using a VCR, connect its s-video output to the matching input on the DVD pass-thru unit, then connect the pass-thru's matching output to a capture device on your PC and capture to whatever format the device's software or other capture software will allow (lossless AVI would be best, but it's your choice).

    If want to use Firewire for capture, you need something that can play VHS with a Firewire output, and capture software that can recognize Firewire input on your PC. This means you can't use the DVD recorder as pass-thru with Firewire. Are you saying that your VCR has a Firewire output? I wouldn't think so. You need a capture card or adapter for your computer that accepts s-video or composite input.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 25th Mar 2014 at 10:11.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    No, not saying the VCR has firewire. I was basing this off the threads I've read where people used this recorder and the more popular Panny ES10 as a passthrough unit and were also able to use the firewire connections, but now I'm not sure about that last part. Maybe they did use the s-video afterall.

    However, I do have a digital camcorder, JVC GR-DVL9800, which can do passthrough, so I can connect the s-video to the camcorder, then hook up the firewire cable to the camcorder and pass it off to the pc. I also have several DV tapes that I'd like to capture off from the camcorder, but for some reason, no program is recognizing that I have a firewire card installed. Any help with that?

    Device manager correctly says that I have it installed:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled3222.png
Views:	488
Size:	63.6 KB
ID:	18907
    Quote Quote  
  7. Connect the composite output from the VHS deck to the composite input on the back of the DVD recorder. Run composite cable to from the DVD recorder's composite output to the composite input on a video capture device. The firewire adapter is useless unless you have a capture device with firewire output -- like a Canopus ADVC.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, I know this, I've abandoned that idea. I have DV tapes that I also need to get captured, and want to capture them via my camcorders firewire output, since that is the simplest and will provide the best quality for the DV tapes. However, my computer, as shown above, does have a firewire card, but for some reason, no program is able to detect it and let me capture.
    Last edited by Nightshiver; 18th Jul 2013 at 10:29.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    I admire your boldness in testing the hypothesis that being as big a jerk as possible is the proper way to get help around here. Indeed, your post #6 conclusively states that you have abandoned this idea. Oh wait. It doesn't. At all.

    sanlyn and jagabo have both already responded and they have both shown a willingness in the past to put up with unreal amounts of bs to "help" people here. I have to admit that after Nightshiver's post I'm going to lose respect for you two if you continue to try to help, but that's your decision here.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    While it was overly rude of me to word my last post as I did, I couldn't help but feel slightly annoyed at jag's reply. (Of course, this is not his fault and is mine) I already knew from sanlyn's reply that it wouldn't be possible to run with firewire with VHS captures, and perhaps my reply "but now I'm not sure about that last part. Maybe they did use the s-video after all." wasn't as clear as it could have been.

    I also probably let the fact that my disappointment at the firewire card I purchased doesn't seem to work to get to me more than it should have.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Perhaps one of those HD recorders from Magnavox? You can then just edit on it.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    @Nightshiver More information might help someone figure out why Firewire isn't working for you. What is the make and model of the Firewire adapter that you installed, and what software fails to recognize that you have a camera connected to it?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Look at the IC on the firewire card. If it's not TI (Texas Instruments) you may have have better luck with a TI based card.
    Last edited by jagabo; 18th Jul 2013 at 11:10.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    It's a rosewill. http://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-RC-504-FireWire-1394a-Ports/dp/B004F3DM6C/ref=sr_1_1?ie...ewill+firewire

    And now it works. Turned the computer off and looked for any sort of lose connections but couldn't find any. Turned computer on, went into device manager, uninstalled the drivers and then did a scan for new hardware. Dunno why it works now, but it does.
    Last edited by Nightshiver; 18th Jul 2013 at 11:20.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Nightshiver View Post
    It's a rosewill. http://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-RC-504-FireWire-1394a-Ports/dp/B004F3DM6C/ref=sr_1_1?ie...ewill+firewire

    And now it works. Turned the computer off and looked for any sort of lose connections but couldn't find any. Turned computer on, went into device manager, uninstalled the drivers and then did a scan for new hardware. Dunno why it works now, but it does.
    I have found that sometimes re-seating a card or re-installing drivers does help.

    I'm glad it is working now. I have recommended that same product to a few people on account of the many good reviews it receives. TI chipsets have a better reputation, but Firewire cards with TI chipsets have become scarce and expensive, so its often either a case of take a card with a VIA chipset or do without Firewire.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads