VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello guys , I'm new to these movies tech thingy . So here goes : I recently bought a ext hdd , and i'm using it to store 3d movies(they have subs in them , if i try to play in vlc they show up) and now the problem is when i connect the ext hdd to my Tv it will play the movie but i can't get the subs to show. Can i get a little help on this?. i've tried googled already the only thing i found was something with "hard sub" but i really didn't managed to do it.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hard subtitles are part of a picture, they are 'pasted' and if picture is shown, then they are as well. External subtitles are subtitles in .srt, .sub format and they are separate file from a video file. In order to play them correctly you have to name file with the same name as video file. Now, which tv you have? It all depends on the models, series.
    his is what I do now, i hope it works for you guys.

download mkvmergeGUI v6.20 (MKVToolNix).

find the normal (2d) .srt for your mkv. (again you might have to adjust delay timing, but that can easily be done work subtitleworkshop or mkvmergeGUI or from a-400 subtitle menu).

launch mkvmergergui. (mmg.exe)

now add your 3d movie mkv into mkvmergergui 6.20
    now add in the 2d normal .srt

now important parts.

in the track window:

1) highlight the video track.
    now click on the tab below "format specific options"
    see the stereoscopy selection, make sure it matches what the 3d movie .mkv format is. eg. side by side left first or top bottom left first, etc.

2) highlight the srt track.
    now make sure you set your .srt to its language
    default track YES
    Force track YES (again yes, since most of the time its foreign language audio and subtitle srt are different language). This will automatically start using the srt instead of you manually selecting it with the remote.

after you have selected that, now start muxing.