VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. My brother have a Hauppauge HD PVR2 1512 model, he want record via composite !
    My friend have a Hauppauge USB-Live-2 with composite.

    Can I use a USB-Live2's cable adapter on a 1512 and record with composite input ?

    I verified a plug and noticed that is same form, but inside this connector, a quantity of pin is not same !
    I tested while device was no powered, and this plug fit on both devices !

    Does anyone tried this ?
    Last edited by NM2; 29th Jun 2013 at 15:37.
    Quote Quote  
  2. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    no it won't work. component input is not the same as composite, even though the cables are similar.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by aedipuss View Post
    no it won't work. component input is not the same as composite, even though the cables are similar.
    At no point does the original poster say the word "component" in his post. I have no idea if he means what he says or he means what you say because his English is weak and what he said is unclear.

    He may simply be asking if there is anything magical about a simple cable that came with the USB-Live2 that would prevent it from being used on the PVR2 1512. In that case, the cable from the USB-Live2 should work fine on the PVR2 if the cable can be securely connected to the PVR2.
    Quote Quote  
  4. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    the pvr only has component in NO composite.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by aedipuss View Post
    the pvr only has component in NO composite.
    I just visited a Hauppauge's storen and foud this link:
    http://www.hauppauge.com/site/webstore2/webstore_avcable-svideo.asp

    This link say that this accessorie is same for PVR2, Colossus and USB-Live2


    I'm ask me if a cable include with a USB-Live2 is same on this link and can use securily on PVR2 ?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search Comp PM
    The "locking connector" end looks like the one on the USB Live2 - can't be sure though:
    http://www.hauppauge.com/site/webstore2/webstore_avcable-colossus-hdpvr2.asp
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by NM2 View Post
    I just visited a Hauppauge's storen and foud this link:
    http://www.hauppauge.com/site/webstore2/webstore_avcable-svideo.asp

    This link say that this accessorie is same for PVR2, Colossus and USB-Live2


    I'm ask me if a cable include with a USB-Live2 is same on this link and can use securily on PVR2 ?
    Hauppauge describes the A/V cable as an "input cable for the HD PVR 2, USB-Live2 and Colossus. Adds S-Video, Composite video and left/right audio to the HD PVR 2, Colossus or USB-Live2."

    Since Hauppauge itself is selling that cable in their store as an accessory for all three capture devices, it is supposed work with any of them.
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 29th Jun 2013 at 19:50.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member SHS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Vinita, Oklahoma
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by NM2 View Post
    My brother have a Hauppauge HD PVR2 1512 model, he want record via composite !
    My friend have a Hauppauge USB-Live-2 with composite.

    Can I use a USB-Live2's cable adapter on a 1512 and record with composite input ?

    I verified a plug and noticed that is same form, but inside this connector, a quantity of pin is not same !
    I tested while device was no powered, and this plug fit on both devices !

    Does anyone tried this ?
    Yes you can use the USB-Live 2 A/V S-Video, Composite cable it is also for the HD PVR 2 and Colossus but what you can't do is use the A/V Component cable on the USB-Live 2
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads