VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have been looking all over the internet to find something to help me capture video from a Hi8 MP 8mm Video Cassette to digital video. I have the new up to date iMovie on my laptop. I am using a Sony Handycam DCR-TRV260 to record and capture. I have tried to connect my camcorder to my computer and use the capturing option in iMovie. When I look on my camcorder and it has an error on it. The error says "Check the connected device." I have used different cable to see if it's the cable but I still have the same error. Is there anything I can do or use to get the footage off of the cassette? I am a video student and in class in high school we used a cassette external capture device. Before I go out and buy one of those, is there anything I can do to bypass this error or fix this error?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I'm moving you to our mac section.

How do you connect it? firewire/ilink, usb? The usb connection might not work for video.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Your camcorder -does- have a Firewire (iLink) port so that is what you will have to use. You can't transfer video over USB.

It is probable your camcorder is no longer on the supported list for iMovie. Two possibilities:

1. iMovie HD (v6) should work with that older camcorder. If you need the manual for the camcorder, look here:
    http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=DCRTRV260&template_id=1&region_id=1&ta...ls#/manualsTab