VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    I recently decided to move some home video from tape to a file. I've tried exporting with several different formats but I always get unsatisfactory playback. Original video filmed on Sony Handycam D8. Playback from camera is fine, playback from DVD conversion is not as good, but doesn't present the problem in the subject line. I'm new to FCPX and Mac in general. I'm guessing it something to do with interlacing and a player setting or something, but I need advice on this.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by crjackson; 5th Jun 2013 at 19:35.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Perhaps you left out some information? The sample isn't DVD, it's H264. It was interlaced video encoded as progressive. "DVD" is MPEG2, usually interlaced. Verdict: improper, uncontrolled deinterlacing. NTW, The bitrate is too low, even for H264, especially with a long zoom lens hopping around. IMHO.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 25th Mar 2014 at 14:05.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    Perhaps you left out some information? The sample isn't DVD, it's H264. It was interlaced video encoded as progressive. "DVD" is MPEG2, usually interlaced. Verdict: improper, uncontrolled deinterlacing. BTW, The bitrate is too low, even for H264, especially with a long zoom lens hopping around. IMHO.
    Okay, I know that DVD is MPEG2 and it plays fine everywhere. I want a single file on my Hard Drive that will playback without the lines. How do I deal with the improper, uncontrolled deinterlacing? I realize this was H264, it was another attempt to find a way to deal with the problem.

Using FCPX, what are the steps it save/export this video without having the aforementioned problem?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    The bitrate is too low, even for H264, especially with a long zoom lens hopping around. IMHO.