VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. This is my first attempt at doing video capture, so I'm at a bit of a loss here. I have a VCR/DVD combo drive hooked up via coaxial (Tried with s-video and it appears to do the same) to the HVR-2250. Sound comes through choppy, and the only comes through in distorted bursts. I've attached a short clip of the capture I had. This was taken with a video camera, so I don't think it's a Macrovision issue or anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

EDIT: I've hooked the same setup to a TV and it comes through just fine.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by Finkswitch; 13th May 2013 at 18:41.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Coaxial?
    Coaxial carries both video and audio......s-video carries only video.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Finkswitch View Post
    This is my first attempt at doing video capture, so I'm at a bit of a loss here. I have a VCR/DVD combo drive hooked up via coaxial (Tried with s-video and it appears to do the same) to the HVR-2250. Sound comes through choppy, and the only comes through in distorted bursts. I've attached a short clip of the capture I had. This was taken with a video camera, so I don't think it's a Macrovision issue or anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

EDIT: I've hooked the same setup to a TV and it comes through just fine.
    Are you using WinTV 7 to capture?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Using s-video, the video was the same as when I have it running through the coaxial cable.

I've tried a couple different softwares. The clip was made with WinTV 7, but I've also tried vdub with the same end result.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Try using a different source. One with a stable signal. VHS is notorious for unstable sync which can confuse many devices. At least try a different tape, if you haven't already.