VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I am pretty new to all this ripping lark so any help would be much appreciated.

I want to rip my Pal DVD collection to my PC hard-drive to then stream to my DLNA LCD TV using Serviio or XBMC. I can do the rips OK but I am getting a problem with the resulting files. Basically, whenever there is a lot of motion in a shot, like a pan or zoom, I notice that the picture jerks along at a regular pulse of about one second. I have tried ripping to H.264/MP4 and .avi also Xvid but either format gives the same problem. I have tried different bit-rates as well but it makes no difference. I am using ImToo DVD Ripper Platinum which seems to give me the best overall results. I have tried Handbrake but with that I can never get the resulting movie to fill my screen, even though the resulting aspect ratio/size is the same as the original DVD and the same as hwat comes out of the ImToo program.

I initially thought it might be a frame-rate issue so tried different settings such as keeping it the same and changing it but neither seemed to make any difference. I then thought it might be a streaming issue, so downloaded a couple of rips other people had done and they play absolutely fine on my system. The one thing I also notice with those is that the quality seems better for the same file size. There is obviously something I may need to do in the 'advanced settings' but that is way out of my league at the moment, hence my post on here.

Any suggestions please?
    Quote Quote  
  2. 23.976 fps material played at 25 (or 50) fps? Or vice versa.
    Last edited by jagabo; 3rd May 2013 at 09:16.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    According to the DVD info in the ripper the DVD's I have tried so far are all 25 fps so I have been ripping to keep the same fps.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Try a different player? VLC, MPCHC, etc.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM