VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I am a noob. I am trying to edit some footage and want to create a storyboard or script that incorporates transitions between scenes and also scene setup effects. I don't know the name or definition of what I am trying to accomplish, just the concept, so I will try to briefly explain. My end product is targeted for children. I would like to search online or the library for ways to display footage that is engaging and interesting.

For instance, when I watch Sesame Street, they sometimes split the screen into 4 squares and each square has either a picture or video clip inside it. Does this type of post-production style have a name? Not the specific 4 square setup, but the idea behind it. I know about introduction, body, and conclusion, but what about all the interesting ways the body can be edited to make an engaging series of clips which would ultimately become the "body of work"?

I am sorry if this question is absolutely silly, but I know so little of this industry.

Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    It takes a long time to learn. There's a lot to absorb.

Transitions, fades, whatever, are really animations designed to keep you engaged. Those squares are 1/4 size video frames playing in parallel, on four tracks.

It's all stills and video, even the elaborate particle effects boil down to single stills. 3D animations boil down to single shapes that are skinned with a still.

Anyway, that four square thing is "Compositing".
    Last edited by budwzr; 30th Apr 2013 at 23:05.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Well, compositing is the general term for the layering and blending of images, primarily in the spatial domain, as opposed to editing being done in the temporal domain.

Most post-production studios I know refer to your effect as a "quad split", while a simple "split screen" usually refers to just 2 images.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search PM