VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi, im new to this, my question is how do you exactly convert a media file to DVD with chinese subtitles? I have a movie and a chinese subtitle (SRT) that is in ANSI not UTF-8, I double checked in notpad++, I then tried to use AVStoDVD to convert the files to dvd format but after converting I checked the video in VLC and the chinese sub title comes up as question marks like ????????. How do I make a dvd with chinese subtitles that can be abled to be played in a US dvd player? What exactly do you need to do to accomplish this? Please share your knowledges people. Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    This is because your PC does not understand the character set that your subtitles are in.

I do not know anything about AVStoDVD. I cannot help you with that.

If you copy and paste your subtitles into a UTF-8 file, Xvid4PSP can work with that and hardcode them into whatever format you like. However, you're not asking about hardcoding.

If you want to try to get your subtitles understood by AVStoDVD you can think about my suggestion in post #2 in this thread.

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/355431-Video-converter-showing-weird-subtitle-chara...hlight=Chinese

If you cannot read Chinese then DO NOT DO what I suggest to your PC in that thread!!!

Finally, you'll have to research it, but it's possible to change the character set that VLC uses to read the subtitles. I've done it, but it was about a year and a half ago. I don't remember exactly what I did, but I found the info online. However, doing this assumes that AVStoDVD was able to understand and correctly use your subtitles. I have no way to know if that is true.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by jman98 View Post
    This is because your PC does not understand the character set that your subtitles are in.