VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi, this is my first time posting here, or any message board in general, and I'm having a bit of an issue. I have begun the arduous task of ripping my unhealthily large dvd collection onto my computer, and for the most part, it goes smoothly. The problem comes up when I encounter a dvd that has no subtitles and has multiple audio streams (such as commentaries). I'd like to be able to preserve those streams, while adding the subtitle files that I personally create. With that in mind, I am in need of a program that will:

Convert files with multiple audio streams
    Allow me to (preferably) hardcode subtitles into those files
    Have the output be of decent quality and
    Be compatible with the 360

While I have found many programs that will accomplish some of these tasks, I have yet to find one (or a combination of one's) that will handle all. My reason for this is mildly convoluted, but I take my hard drive with me when I go out of town to friends or my parents house and I frequently watch my movies through a 360.

I am aware that this is a very precise request, but hopefully someone can help. Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Have you tried handbrake?

Open the DVD VIDEO_TS folder and under the audio tab can you add more audio tracks, under the subtitles tab can you add a subtitle and select burn in/hardcode it. Convert to mp4 and see how it works on your xbox360.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    And if you want burned in subs that you have created must they be in ssa format. https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Subtitles

edit: and I see that they must be muxed in the video....so it wont work....so close....
    Last edited by Baldrick; 20th Feb 2013 at 05:19.
    Quote Quote