VideoHelp Forum




+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    Using the ffmpeg command below, I can convert 1080 mov videos taken with my iPhone 4s to mp4. But when I try to convert a mov file taken with my Canon SX 1, it fails with these errors;

    ffmpeg -i christmas_2012-01.mov -acodec copy -vcodec copy christmas_2012-01-ff.mp4

    mp4 @ 0x7ffc92051600] track 1: could not find tag, codec not currently supported in container
    Could not write header for output file #0 (incorrect codec parameters ?): Operation not permitted[/COLOR]


    Here are the video's attributes:

    ID_VIDEO_ID=0
    ID_AUDIO_ID=0
    ID_AID_0_LANG=eng
    ID_CLIP_INFO_NAME0=major_brand
    ID_CLIP_INFO_VALUE0=qt
    ID_CLIP_INFO_NAME1=minor_version
    ID_CLIP_INFO_VALUE1=537331968
    ID_CLIP_INFO_NAME2=compatible_brands
    ID_CLIP_INFO_VALUE2=qt CAEP
    ID_CLIP_INFO_NAME3=creation_time
    ID_CLIP_INFO_VALUE3=2012-12-24 19:44:27
    ID_CLIP_INFO_N=4
    ID_FILENAME=christmas_2012-01.mov
    ID_DEMUXER=lavfpref
    ID_VIDEO_FORMAT=H264
    ID_VIDEO_BITRATE=2483240
    ID_VIDEO_WIDTH=320
    ID_VIDEO_HEIGHT=240
    ID_VIDEO_FPS=30.000
    ID_VIDEO_ASPECT=0.0000
    ID_AUDIO_FORMAT=1
    ID_AUDIO_BITRATE=1411200
    ID_AUDIO_RATE=44100
    ID_AUDIO_NCH=2
    ID_START_TIME=0.00
    ID_LENGTH=71.60
    ID_SEEKABLE=1
    ID_CHAPTERS=0
    ID_VIDEO_CODEC=ffh264
    ID_AUDIO_BITRATE=1411200
    ID_AUDIO_RATE=44100
    ID_AUDIO_NCH=2
    ID_AUDIO_CODEC=pcm
    ID_EXIT=EOF
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Wolfen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I don't think uncompressed audio(ID_AUDIO_CODEC=pcm) is supported in a .MP4 container.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    To answer my own question, the audio codec was incompatible with the mp4 container, so I just specified AAC like:

    ffmpeg -y -i christmas_2012-02.mov -c:a libfaac -vcodec copy christmas_2012-02-ff.mp4
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Wolfen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    You'll have to re-encode your audio

    ffmpeg.exe -i christmas_2012-01.mov -vcodec copy -acodec aac -ab 128k christmas_2012-01.mp4
    Last edited by Wolfen; 16th Feb 2013 at 00:36.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    I don't understand why it has to be re-encoded -- The audio codec appears to be the same using your command or my original one:

    ID_AUDIO_CODEC=ffaac

    -Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Wolfen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by zBernie View Post
    fmpeg -y -i christmas_2012-02.mov -c:a libfaac -vcodec copy christmas_2012-02-ff.mp4
    Don't know maybe it's trying to use the bitrate from the .mov file for aac encoding.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!