VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

Im a beginner to video editing. I can use Windows Movie Maker no problem. However, i am looking to expand my knowledge into creating music videos using decent effects. After Effects is on my wish list but isn't affordable. So i am looking at cheaper alternatives. Does anyone know why Sony Vegas Pro 11 & Sony Movie Studio Platinum are so different in price £399 and £66 ?

Sony Vegas Movie Studio 12 (£66): http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-Movie-Studio-Platinum-Suite/dp/B008MIMIY8/ref=sr_1_2?s=so...0446861&sr=1-2

Sony vegas Pro 11 (£399): http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-Vegas-Pro-11-PC/dp/B005X3DX6M/ref=sr_1_4?s=software&ie=UT...0446861&sr=1-4

I am looking at an editing software which has some decent effects. I like the twitch fx, ghost etc that come with Sony Vegas. I anyone can suggest any other software if Vegas is a no no that would be great too. Its so daunting looking at all the different softwares

I hope someone can shed any light for me ?
    ps I use a 32 bit PC with external audiocard - Focusrite.

pps: and if i buy the £66 one will i still be able to download and plug in all the free effects that are out there ?

ppps: i have seen the other post here: https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/301859-What-is-the-difference-between-Vegas-Pro-and...tudio-platinum but i dont even know what a video scope is ? oh dear ...
    Last edited by Ghost Dust; 9th Feb 2013 at 16:37. Reason: found new thread
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    vegas pro 12 is the current version of their high end editor. it sells for $600. the reduced feature set vegas studio 12 starts at about a $100 but can often be found on sale or with a rebate.

comparison here - http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/vegaspro/compare

pro 12 is for 64 bit windows only.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM